Adaptations: May – June 2016

Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers here are the adaptations I’ve enjoyed over the last month or so on the big and small screen:

X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

The 9th action-packed superhero adventure, based on the X-Men characters from Marvel Comics created by writer Stan Lee and Jack Kirby. The X-Men re-unite after the resurrection of an ancient mutant, En Sabah Nur, who is intent on destroying the world. An exciting, fast-paced film with amazing special effects and a strong ensemble cast. I warn you this another long one!

***


The Legend of Hercules (2014)
Read     Film     Television

If you can believe it, this was 1 of 2 films released in 2014 about the legendary hero from Ancient Greek mythology. Hercules must rise to challenge the tyrant King Galenus, avenge his mother and rescue his love. This didn’t receive positive reviews, for me it was an action-packed Hercules meets Gladiator adventure – fun but not as good as previous Ancient Greek epics.

*


11.22.63 (2016)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

A new science fiction drama based on Stephen King’s 2011 novel. Jake (James Franco), a divorced English teacher, travels back in time with the almost impossible mission to stop JFK’s assassination. A gripping race-against-time thriller with a wonderfully nostalgic setting – I loved the clothes, music and mood of the 1960s USA.

***


Warcraft (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

New fantasy adventure based on the highly successful video games and novels set in the world of Azeroth. The orcs’ world is dying and in their search for a new one they are brought into conflict with a new race, humans.  A visually stunning film on an epic scale – you need to be switched on when watching this as a lot is squeezed in.

**


Cranford (2007)
Read     TV Series     Television

The BBC’s well-loved costume drama based on three of Elizabeth Gaskell’s novellas. Cranford is a small, quiet, rural town in Victorian England which is to be shook up by plans for a railway. A simple and charming series with a wonderful ensemble cast that was a really comforting watch for me.

**


I also enjoyed a delightful re-watch of The Railway Children (1970) which makes 6 mores adaptations watched. Sadly I still haven’t been able to see the new live-action film of The Jungle Book (2016) and I look forward to seeing the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016). I am still watching the amazing 6th series of Game of Thrones and  I can’t believe it is almost finished already!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

12 thoughts on “Adaptations: May – June 2016

  1. I adore Cranford – one of my comfort watches. What a cast! The amazing Judi Dench, of course, but Julia Mackenzie is so great and Imelda Staunton has always been a favourite of mine too. Ooh, I think I need to dig out the DVD again…

    1. FictionFan, it is an amazing cast – I love Judi Dench, Imelda Staunton, Jim Carter, Andrew Buchan, Claudie Blakley, Philip Glenister and Julia Sawalha 😀 And I think digging out your DVD for a comforting re-watch sounds like an excellent idea 🙂

    1. JoAnn, the series is a combination of the 3 tales set in Cranford and they have changed a few things, however they have really captured the feel of the book and there is a wonderful cast – I hope you enjoy it too 🙂

  2. I have to jump on the X-Men bandwagon one of these days. I’m excited about tomorrow’s finale of GOT; this season has been as edgy as the previous ones.
    I am watching the HBO adaptation of The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling, and next week I’m going to start War and Peace.

    1. Carmen, I think this series of GOT is perhaps even better than the last! With the time difference, I’ll get the final episode at 2am on Monday – I can’t wait but equally will be gutted when it is over!! I’ll have to carry on reading the books to fill the void 😀

      I’ve watched The Casual Vacancy, it was a joint production between the BBC and HBO, so it will be interesting to hear your thoughts on it. Are you watching the newest adaptation of War and Peace? As I’ve watched that too 🙂

  3. I have read the X-men comics and watched the movies! I loved all the movies except the recent one, Apocalypse. I felt it was a little too predictable and didn’t do much justice to the comics.

    1. Shameeka, it is interesting to hear from someone who has read the comics. While I thought this was a great production I didn’t enjoy the story as much as previous films.

Leave a Reply

