The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #42

The Classics Club Meme

Each month The Classics Club releases a question to get club members thinking, discussing and sharing; either on the official site or their own sites. This month’s question was contributed by club member Fariba (who joined in January 2014):

“What is your favourite mystery or science fiction classic? Why do you think it is a classic? Why do you like it?”

I have read and loved many classic mysteries however I am going to take this opportunity to highlight a science fiction classic – as this is a genre I love but really don’t read enough of – and that is The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham, originally published in 1951. I read this back in university and was blown away by it. This is a post-apocalyptic novel which looks at the rise of genetically modified, carnivorous plants, after a freak meteor storm has blinded the majority of the world’s human population. That is cool/creepy enough but what makes it a classic is the discussion of human nature: do those lucky enough to keep their sight help those who haven’t, do they just look after themselves or do they take advantage of the situation? Great book and I highly recommend reading it, if you haven’t already.

What is your favourite science fiction classic? Have you read The Day of the Triffids?

Also, please let me know and link in the comments below if you have taken part in this month’s Classic Club meme too.

22 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #42

  1. I love DotT and have recently bought a copy of Chrysalids on the recommendation of Mogsy which I’m looking forward to too – I need to update my classics list and include that one on there.
    Lynn 😀

    1. I’m so sorry Judy, I’m not sure what happened, but I found all your comments in the moderation section; perhaps it was because they had more than one link? However, thank you for the recommendations: The Chrysalids has got to be his next most famous work and while I haven’t heard of The Kraken Wakes I love the title 😀

  2. I love The Day of the Triffids, and some of his other books. Chocky is a good one, if you’re looking for recommendations, and The Chrysalids.

    1. FictionFan, I am looking for recommendations, thank you 🙂 You are the 2nd person to recommend The Chrysalids and it is probably one of Wyndham’s other most famous novels. I haven’t heard of Chocky before though, I will have to look that up.

    1. Hello Chronolibrarian, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face and they do say ‘great mind’s think a like’ 😀

  3. Science fiction is not one of my preferred genres, but I’ll always give it a go if it sounds good – and The Day of the Triffids definitely does.

    1. Anbolyn, this could be a good science fiction novel for you to try out as: it is not too long, it is not too heavy on the science and has lots of other interesting things going on in it too.

  4. I also became a Wyndham fan because of Day of the Triffids. And I agree with your reasoning about why it is a classic. Earlier this year I read Bram Stoker’s Dracula which I think would be called a classic, especially in the vampire category. It too took a look at human nature and also, surprisingly women’s rights. Since I hardly ever read vampire stories you could say it was a favorite. My review: http://keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2015/12/dracula.html

    1. Judy, great to hear your a Wyndham fan 🙂 I really need to read more of his novels – is there any you would recommend? I was also impressed with how much deeper Dracula was and that wasn’t just a vampire story; although I do like a good vampire story. I recently got my own copy of it and I am looking forward to a re-read 😀

  5. The Day of the Triffids is on my Classics Club list and I’m really looking forward to it after reading your thoughts. I have read one of John Wyndham’s other books – The Midwich Cuckoos – and loved it!

    1. Helen, I hope you are able to read this soon and that you enjoy it as much as I did. I really need to read more of Wyndham’s novels – as you loved The Midwich Cuckoos perhaps that should be top of my list 🙂

    1. JoAnn, this might be a good science fiction novel to try as: it is not too long, it is not too heavy on the science and has lots of other interesting things going on in it too.

  6. Day of the Triffids turned me onto ScFi too. I then went on to read all of Wyndham’s books.

    Then I tackled Dune – but only 2-3 of the series. But that was many years ago.

      1. From memory I enjoyed the Kraken Wake and The Chysalids. The one with the blue eyed kids is pretty creepy too.

        I read Dune when I was 22 (that lovely age when you feel time poor but actually have all the time in the world, but you just don’t realise it:-)
        It was worth it – I couldn’t put it down.

        1. Thank you for the recommendations. I have heard of The Chrysalids but the Kraken Wake is a new one on me. I wonder if the creepy blue-eyed children one is The Midwich Cuckoos; that is another famous one.

Leave a Reply

