Goodbye June, Hello July 2016

Month - June 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? June has been another rollercoaster month for me. This month, I have enjoyed Father’s Day, the Queen’s birthday and an adventurous, residential trip with the children and fellow staff from school; plus I have had the joy of my contract being renewed for two more years! Sadly that has been overshadowed somewhat by some terrible weather and my sadness at the result of the EU referendum. The beauty of reading though is I have been able to escape it all in these wonderful adventures:

Fiction: 4     Non-Fiction: 0     Poetry: 0

June has seen the start of the 10 Books of Summer challenge for me. First, I read an interesting twist on Norse Mythology, The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M Harris. I had never read anything by Harris before but this has definitely made me want to read more. And then, I read The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown; the last thrilling Robert Langdon adventure I had left to read. I am now looking forward to a re-watch of the film and the new film release of Inferno, later this year. So altogether I have only read two books for this challenge; a slower start than I hoped for.

Also this month, I read the children’s classic The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit – the charming and final adventure with the children and ‘It’ of the Psammead series. That is another book off my Classics Club list and towards the Women’s Classic Literature Event. I also enjoyed an amusing re-read of Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them by J K Rowling in preparation for the exciting release of the film, staring Eddie Redmayne, later this year! And finally, as well as beginnings June also saw the end of the magical Once Upon a Time event – three of the books above were appropriate for it which brought my total up to nine books!

Pick of the Month: The Da Vinci Code

That’s four fictions but sadly no non-fictions completed. However all through the month I have been dipping in and out of Christian devotional, Let God’s Word Empower Your Prayers by Stormie Omartian and my new cookbook Save With Jamie by Jamie Oliver. And I started reading Master of Shadows by Neil Oliver and, my result for the last Classics Club Spin, Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne.

In July I am looking forward to the start of the schools’ summer break and the bittersweet graduation of the Year 6 children I work with; I am wishing them all the very best as they make the exciting move up to secondary school

What did you do and read in June? Do you have any plans for July?

12 thoughts on “Goodbye June, Hello July 2016

  1. I didn’t even think to re-read Fantastic Beasts! I really should though. I would say I’m looking forward to a less busy July, but I feel like I’m flat out until September! Hopefully, I’ll at least get reading time in. And congrats on the contract renewal!

    1. Thank you Geoff 🙂 and I really hope you able to fit in some reading time in your flat-out schedule – you wouldn’t need much time to squeeze in a re-read of the slim, Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them 😀

    1. Charlie, The Da Vinci Code is the 2nd Robert Langdon book – I managed to skip it due to hype putting me off and newer Langdon books tempting me more. It has confused matters even more though as they made it into a film before the 1st book, Angels & Demons. And, I am enjoying Journey to the Center of the Earth, so far 🙂

  2. Congratulations on the renewal of your contract. Too bad on the referendum, but that’s the nature of democracy.
    I only read one book (and plus) in June, namely Avenger by Frederick Forsyth.
    Have you published the post on Da Vinci Code? I haven’t seen it.

    1. Thank you Carmen – I am thrilled to be continuing my work at the same school 🙂 I’ve heard of Frederick Forsyth but I haven’t read any of their books – I hope your enjoying Avenger. And no, I haven’t posted about The Da Vinci Code as I only finished it this week; should be up in a about a week or so.

  3. I’m pleased to hear your contract has been renewed. That’s great news! Good luck with the rest of the 10 Books of Summer Challenge. My June got off to a good start but I couldn’t concentrate on anything after the referendum result (I’m still sad about it too).

    1. Thank you Helen – I am thrilled to be continuing my work at the same school 🙂 I hope we’re both able to pick ourselves up after the referendum result to throw ourselves back into our reading (challenge or not). Books can be the best cure for woes 🙂

  4. Sounds like you’ve had a pretty good book month, and congrats on the contract renewal! I’ve slumped ever since the referendum and that’s knocked me back on the 20 Books of Summer, but once Wimbledon finishes I shall be able to get back to it properly. Still two full months to go for us both – we can do it! 🙂

    1. Thank you FictionFan – I am thrilled to be continuing my work at the same school 🙂 I hope we’re both able to pick ourselves up from the referendum and pulls ourselves away from Wimbledon, now and again, to catch up on our 10/20 Books of Summer reading 😀

Leave a Reply

