Meme: Six in Six 2016

Six in Six

My fellow bookworms, the Six in Six meme is the brain child of Jo at The Book Jotter and I am so pleased it is back for its 5th year, as I think it is such a fun and easy way to reflect on my reading at the 6th month mark in the year. So here goes six authors/books in six different categories from the last six months:

Six new authors to me:

  1. Laurie R King
  2. Mark Gelineau & Joe King
  3. Elizabeth Edmondson
  4. Andy Weir
  5. Margaret Skea
  6. Joanne M Harris

Six authors I have read before:

  1. Deborah Harkness
  2. Stormie Omartian
  3. Susanna Kearsley
  4. Charles Dickens
  5. M C Beaton
  6. Terry Pratchett

Six classics I have read:

  1. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
  2. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  3. Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit
  4. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  5. The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit
  6. The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley

Six books I have read on my Kindle:

  1. Out of Darkness by Stormie Omartian
  2. The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles
  3. The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson
  4. Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea
  5. Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau & Joe King
  6. The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M Harris

Six physical books I have read:

  1. Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley
  2. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R King
  3. Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death by M C Beaton
  4. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  5. The Martian by Andy Weir
  6. Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett

Six series of books read, continued or started:

  1. All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness
  2. Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes mysteries by Laurie R King
  3. Echo of the Ascended novellas by Mark Gelineau & Joe King
  4. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
  5. Psammead series by Edith Nesbit
  6. Discworld by Terry Pratchett

What books and authors have you enjoyed so far this year? Please let me know if you have taken part in this meme too.

26 thoughts on “Meme: Six in Six 2016

    1. Hello Yvonne, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I’ve popped over to your blog and seeing what books you’ve been enjoying this year I think Margaret Skea is an author you may enjoy too. I’m going to check out your Six in Six post now 😀

  1. Perhaps because I read so much, I always enjoy books that are unique or not similar to others I have been reading. Recently I read Saint Mazie by Jami Attenburg about a young woman raised by her older sister, who likes to have a good time and avoids marriage but ends up helping out the bums in New York City during the depression. The story was very moving and showed me a different kind of life than heroines tend to have in novels. Then I read Arcadia by Iain Pears and it was both an homage and a spoof of authors such as C S Lewis and Tolkien with a story and land made out of the imagination of a writer where the characters go and have adventures. A real feat I feel. Both of these will go on my list of best reads for 2016.

    1. Judy I am pleased to hear you have been enjoying your reading so much. I haven’t read either of these books, but I love the sound of Arcadia. Here’s to another great 6 months of reading 🙂

    1. Thank you FictionFan 🙂 I am so pleased with the amount of classics I’ve read that they were able to have their own category this year; usually I’ve not read enough!

    1. Lynn I think this is a great meme from Jo – the real beauty of it is you can pick whatever 6 categories that suit you best; Jo has a list of possible categories on her master post or create your own!

  2. Great lists – and congratulations on reading so many classics this year! I will be taking part in this meme too, but I haven’t finished putting my post together yet.

    1. Thank you Helen – I am thrilled I had enough classics for a category all of their own this year! I look forward to seeing your lists/categories this year 🙂

  3. What fun! I’ve enjoyed this meme for several years and am glad to see it’s back again… will post my lists later this week. My classics are much lower than normal this year…wish I could say I’ve read six so far.

    1. JoAnn I look forward to seeing your 6 in 6 post 🙂 This is the first year I have been able to include the classics category because usually I haven’t read enough! So my classics reading must be up and it is great to have the opportunity to showcase some classics in this meme.

  4. I’ve taken part in this meme too! I do like it. I’ve picked two of the same categories as you but the rest are different – that’s what is so good about this meme, there is so much choice! I would have liked to include 6 classics – but I’ve only read 3 this year! I’ve read some of the books you’ve listed, including Margaret Skea’s lovely book, Turn of the Tide.

    1. Margaret, I have just been able to pop over and check out your post – we’ve both picked two of the ‘classic’ categories and I really like your last category; it is something a bit different. I haven’t included 6 classics before, as you said I haven’t read enough before, so I am really pleased I was able to include them this time. And, I really enjoyed Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea and I am hoping to read A House Divided very soon!

Leave a Reply

