The Classics Club: The Story of the Amulet

The Story of the Amulet

After enjoying the two previous books, Five Children and It and The Phoenix and the Carpet, in June I returned and completed Edith Nesbit’s charming Psammead series with The Story of the Amulet.

The siblings: Robert, Anthea, Cyril and Jane find themselves at a loose end again after being left in London under the care of their old nurse. Their father is away due to the war and their mother has gone away for her health, taking their baby brother ‘the lamb’ with her. Out one day, trying to amuse themselves, the four older children surprisingly stumble upon their old friend ‘It’ (a sand fairy) in a pet shop! They rescue him but he is not their only magical discovery, they also come across a broken ancient amulet which has the power to take them on many adventures in the past.

It was lovely catching up with and sharing some more adventures with Robert, Anthea, Cyril and Jane; but sadly no ‘Lamb’. The four older children are inquisitive, clever, argumentative and can sometimes be rather naughty; which can make them slightly less likeable, than the Railway Children, but equally realistic and amusing to read about. I was a little sad not to be able to catch up with ‘the lamb’, as he was such a sweetie in the last book, but we did have the old nurse and the professor upstairs to get to know. I particularly enjoyed how the professor joins them for one adventure and thinks it’s all a wonderful dream!

As in the previous books, I really enjoyed the children’s quaint and eccentric adventures which this time arose from their wishes to help them find the complete amulet. I travelled with them to Ancient Egypt where they met a suspicious priest, to Babylon where they sing for the queen and the mythological Atlantis before the cataclysmic wave; the latter of which causes much distress to the cantankerous old ‘It’ who hates water. What was nicer about these adventures was they had a purpose: to retrieve the complete amulet with which the children hoped to be able to wish their parents and baby brother safely back to them.

The Story of the Amulet was another charming, magical children’s classic and a fitting end to the Psammead series. I’m almost a little sad that I’ve finished the series, however there are still other novels to discover by Edith Nesbit. Good read.

Have you read this? What other Nesbit novels would you recommend?

The Classics Club – 44/50
Once Upon a Time X – #8
The Women’s Classic Literature Event – #6

6 thoughts on “The Classics Club: The Story of the Amulet

  1. I’d not heard of this one, I thought the series ended with Phoenix. Interesting; I like that this is focused on something different (thinking of all those wishes that were about them previously). Not surprised you’re disappointed to have finished – are the other works you’ve left to read fantasy, too? (I’ve no idea myself – you’re teaching me 🙂 )

    1. Charlie, I hadn’t heard of this one either before I read the earlier books in the series. The remaining novel by Nesbit I have on my Kindle is children’s fantasy The Enchanted Castle and I believe she has more fantasy books for me to discover after that 🙂

Leave a Reply

