Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (July)

Blog - Women's Classic Literature Event

Hello my fellow bookworms and classic lovers, it is time for the third check-in for The Women’s Classic Literature Event. Since the April check-in I have read:

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

Cranford

I’ve long wanted to read something by Gaskell and I was not disappointed. This was a comforting, meticulous and personable tale of the lives of the women of a small rural town.

***


The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit

The Phoenix and the Carpet

The second, charming set of magical adventures with the siblings: Robert, Anthea, Cyril, Jane and the ‘Lamb’ – this time no ‘It’ but there is a phoenix and a flying carpet.

**


The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit

The Story of the Amulet

The final adventures with Robert, Anthea, Cyril, Jane and their cantankerous friend ‘It’. Another charming, magical children’s classic and a fitting end to the Psammead series – I’m little sad it is all over.

**


That is 3 books read in 3 months which I am really pleased with and it brings my total, so far, up to 6 books. Now it is time for July’s group question:

‘Describe the writing style of your current author for this event, or if you prefer, your favourite author for the event so far. How does she form a sentence, or get to the next scene, or keep readers riveted?’

I am not currently reading anything for this event, as I am reading my result for The Classics Club 13th spin event: Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne. The last author I read, and who I have read the most by too, for this event is Edith Nesbit. So far for this event alone, I have read 4 of Nesbit’s books which include: The Railway Children and the 3 instalments in her Psammead series. I have found her children’s book charming, magical and comforting reads, and after recent busy days of work that is sometimes just what my tired mind needs.

What classic female authors are you currently reading? Who are your favourite classic female authors?

12 thoughts on “Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (July)

  1. I really don’t read enough classics authors, but I’ve been tempted by Cranford for a while. I think I’m just worried it will be a bit saccharine, but you found it comforting so maybe I’ll be wrong.

    1. Alice, if you’ve been tempted by Cranford for a while I would just give it a go as it is only short. However I can’t comment on whether you’ll enjoy it as much as me – one woman’s comforting read could be another’s saccharine 😀

  2. The only classic on my reading list this month is Great Expectations and that is by a man. I did read Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew and then Anne Tyler’s retelling, Vinegar Girl. A woman retells a classic and boy was it hilarious!

    1. Judy, I loved Great Expectations and I hope you will enjoy it too 🙂 I haven’t heard of Vinegar Girl and I haven’t read or seen The Taming of the Shrew either! I’m glad you found Tyler’s retelling hilarious though.

    1. Thank you Lory 🙂 I only started out with The Railway Children and Five Children and It on my list, but as I enjoyed them so much I have added more of her books 😀

  3. I haven’t read any Nesbit, but after reading Helen Dunmore’s ‘Exposure’ recently, which is a kind of twist on ‘The Railway Children’ seen through the adults’ eyes, I would like to read that one sometime. Of course, I’ve seen the film many times…

    1. FictionFan, I can’t recommend reading The Railway Children highly enough: I thought it was a utterly charming tale and it is definitely still my favourite of the Edith Nesbit novels I’ve read. And, I also love the film 🙂 It also sounds like I need to check out Exposure by Helen Dunmore 😀

  4. I’m planning to start The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton next week. Really looking forward to it as I loved all the other Wharton’s I have read.

    1. Cathy, I have a collection of Edith Wharton’s novels on my Kindle now however I have not got round to reading any yet! I look forward to seeing your thoughts on The Age of Innocence – it might inspire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

