Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Facts About Me

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Ten Facts About Me

I haven’t taken part in this meme for weeks as the topics just haven’t suited me. I did a little jig of joy when I saw this week’s topic was facts about me – that I can do and I have missed taking part! Our facts can be bookish or just general, so I’ve decided to do 5 of each.

First up, 5 bookish facts about me:

~ 1 ~

My favourite book is The Hobbit by J.R.R.Tolkien – I have read it more times than I can keep track of!

~ 2 ~

My favourite genres to read are Fantasy, Historical Fiction and Mystery.

~ 3 ~

I also enjoy reading non-fiction books on Faith, Food and History.

~ 4 ~

I am a self-confessed spine breaker however I would never write in a book! (When they used to make us make notes in books at school I used to do it in faint pencil so I could rub it out later).

~ 5 ~

I am now in my fifth and final year of The Classics Club, and I have read 44 books towards my goal of 50.  I have loved taking part and I am really going to miss it!

Now, 5 general facts about me:

~ 6 ~

I use my blog as a sociable reading diary and it is currently in its 6th year.

~ 7 ~

For the last 6 years, I have also been a member of a local belly dancing group – a very fun way to keep fit.

~ 8 ~

I work as a one-to-one teaching assistant for children with special educational needs.

~ 9 ~

As well as reading books, I love to watch TV, film and stage adaptations.

~ 10 ~

I have a black cat called Bonnie – you may have spotted her on here now and again.

I hope you’ve learnt a little something about me. Please link in and let me know if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Facts About Me

  1. Me too! to all your fave genres:) Also way to go with the Classics Club and making a goal, sticking to it and being almost finished! That’s not easy! Congrats!

  2. But you must do a new Classics Club list! You can’t finish just when I’ve finally started! I like the belly dancing fact so much I’ll forgive you for the spine breaking fact… 😉

    1. Haha thank you for forgiving me, FictionFan 😀 I am sorely tempted to start a new Classics Club list, because I will really miss it, but then I am excited about what new challenges and projects might be out there for me 🙂

    1. TJ you probably shouldn’t encourage me…I am very tempted to start another Classics Club list! You will find Bonnie in a few of my end of month posts and accidentally in one of my new book posts (where she decided to sniff the books I was taking a photo of).

  3. Yay that’s a fun meme! And Hi, fellow spine-breaker here😂 And I’ve known you for quite a few years, blogging years fly by!

      1. Heh I remember posting about Anne Fadiman’s essay about carnal readers and the discussion in the comments, very hot topic for readers 😂

  4. Six years, that’s amazing! I’m on my first year and I can’t imagine staying on my blog for that long (although I plan to). I generally get bored two years in, haha. Have you taken any hiatuses in those six years?

    Here’s my TTT, if you’re interested. 🙂

    1. Reg, I must admit my first two years were a little patchy when it came to posting and getting used to my own style. However in the last 3 years things have settled down and each year I have enjoyed blogging more and more 🙂

      p.s. popping over to check out your post now.

      1. I get that! When I first started out I was also trying to figure out what I want… and I still am, right now, haha. I don’t think I’ll ever really ‘settle’ because my tastes change quite a lot and quite often and I think it’ll translate to my blog.

        Glad to hear that you’re enjoying blogging more and more! ❤

Leave a Reply

