Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books Set Outside the US

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Ten Books Set Outside The US

Unlike the gang over at The Broke and Bookish I don’t actually read a great deal of books set in the USA, so this topic for me was very easy! After looking at what I’ve read, so far, this year I have decided to share with you 10 books (ordered alphabetically by author) that I have enjoyed set outside of the USA – I have also not included completely fantasy settings and instead tried to stick to real places/countries.

~ 1 ~

The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson

The Villa in Italy

Set in the 1950s at the beautiful Renaissance Villa Dante, Italy.

~ 2 ~

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

Cranford

Set in the small rural town of Cranford, in Victorian England.

~ 3 ~

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

Shadow of Night

Set, in the majority, in London the bustling, melting pot of Elizabethan England.

~ 4 ~

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M Harris

The Gospel of Loki

Set in the ancient lands of Scandinavia from Norse Mythology (slightly cheating I know!).

~ 5 ~

Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley

Named of the Dragon

Set in the beautiful, ancient coastal town of Angle, Pembrokeshire (South Wales).

~ 6 ~

The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R King

The Beekeeper's Apprentice

Starts on the Sussex Downs of England and contains adventures to Oxford, London, Wales and the Middle East.

~ 7 ~

The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit

The Story of the Amulet

Set, in the majority, in Edwardian London and contains adventures to Ancient Egypt, Babylon and the mythological Atlantis (okay a little more cheating with Atlantis!).

~ 8 ~

Across Great Divides by Monique Roy

Across Great Divides

Spans across Germany, Belgium, France and Spain during the rise of the Nazi Party and the start of WWII. Then moves to Brazil and then finally South Africa too.

~ 9 ~

Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea

Turn of the Tide

Set in 16th century Scotland during the reign of the young James VI.

~ 10 ~

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian

Set in the year 2035 on the Ares 3 mission to Mars! (yes, technically Mars is a real place…even if we can’t go there yet!)

What books have you read recently set outside the USA? Please let me know and link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books Set Outside the US

  1. Books I have read so far in July set outside the US: The Seed Collectors by Scarlett Thomas, set in England and Ladivine by Marie NDiaye set in France, Germany and an unnamed African country.

  2. This would be an easy list for me to fill because I read a lot of books set in England and Europe. (And I love that you included The Martian!)

    1. Lark, like you, the majority of my reading is set in the UK and Europe which made this topic super easy. And, I just had to include The Martian because what better setting than Mars and it made me smile 🙂

  3. I really enjoyed Cranford – which is the only book from this list I’ve read, although I want to read more E. Nesbit, and also The Beekeeper’s Apprentice 🙂

    1. Hello Rachel, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I am pleased you enjoyed Cranford too and hopefully you’ll have time for The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and some of Edith Nesbit’s magical children’s tales soon.

  4. Haha, Mars, that is a good one! Though I didn’t do a proper TTT list it was interesting to go through my reading this year with the question in mind. I read a ton of books set in Britain so I did not count those. Otherwise, some of my favorite locations have been Corfu (My Family and Other Animals), Venice (A Man of Genius, Thus Was Adonis Murdered), Germany (Journey to Munich), England/Switzerland/Ukraine (The Summer Guest), Nigeria (Lagoon), Canada (Emily of New Moon), Iran (Persepolis I and II), Channel Islands/New Zealand (Green Dolphin Street), and of course Discworld (Mort, Wyrd Sisters, The Shepherd’s Crown). I’ve done more traveling through books than I thought!

    1. Lory, I am pleased you enjoyed my Mars setting – it made me smile when I was making this post 😀 Looking at the books you’ve listed above you’ve really been glob trotting?! I have also read some of Pratchett’s Discworld novellas this year…but didn’t mention them in this post as they would totally be breaking my rule of real places 😛

Leave a Reply

