The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #43

The Classics Club Meme

Each month The Classics Club releases a question to get club members thinking, discussing and sharing; either on the official site or on their own sites. This month’s question is a rewind from February 2015, originally contributed by club member Teresa (who joined in 2012):

“What about modern classics? Pick a book published since 2000 and say why you think it will be considered as a “classic” in the future.”

This year, I have read many wonderful children’s books off my Classics Club list, so for the rewind of this meme question I’ve decided to discuss children’s books I think will/should become classics.

First up has to be the Harry Potter series by J K Rowling – bestselling books that spawned a highly successful film franchise too. This series actually straddles the year 2000, as the first book, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, was published in 1997 and the final book, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, was published in 2007. Like C S Lewis’ classic The Chronicles of Narnia, the Harry Potter books are set in a magical world, full of colourful characters and tap into the almost innate wish of children for magic to be real. Lewis had us checking inside wardrobes while Rowling had us wishing our Hogwarts letter would arrive! One became a classic so why not the other?!

My next choice, His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman, only just fits into this questions time frame as the final book of the trilogy, The Amber Spyglass, was published in 2000. Another bestselling series which sadly only spawned one film. These are beautifully written books with a brilliant young female protagonist which should surely help to make this trilogy classic reads for future children – plus the religious controversy surrounding the final book should keep people talking about these books for many more years to come.

My final choice, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, is the newest and most relevant choice for this question as the trilogy was published between 2008 – 2010. A bestselling young adult series which also spawned a highly successful film franchise (yes, if you hadn’t noticed I love film adaptations). While the love triangle isn’t for everyone, I think this is a great dystopian trilogy with a gripping storyline, dark future setting, a kick-ass female protagonist and which gets us thinking about the value of life.

What modern children’s books and series do you think will become classics? Also, please let me know and link in the comments below if you have taken part in this month’s Classic Club meme too.

14 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #43

  1. Completely agree with your choices. I don’t read as many books meant for young people since I retired from working at the bookstore. I try to read the Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King winners each year but have not done so yet this year. Sometimes I wish I had more than one brain!

    1. Anne, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face especially a fellow Harry Potter fan 🙂 And, of course I’ll pop over and see your post 😀

  2. I agree with your choices. And I don’t know why there wasn’t another adaptation of His Dark Materials as I loved The Golden Compass.

    1. Thank you Carmen 🙂 I really enjoyed The Golden Compass film too, but I was slightly upset that they changed the title and cut the dramatic end off – the latter I feel really damaged its popularity and chance for another film.

  3. I agree with you about ‘His Dark Materiasl’; it is already a classic surely. I think the reason is that it crosses the boundary between childhood and adulthood with its themes. I do tend to agree with Fiction Fan that the Hunger Games series belongs to a phase or trend in YA – it’s a bit like an extreme version of our TV’s Big Brother and will pass into history. ‘

    1. Hello Andrew, thank you for stopping by and commenting. I am pleased to hear you think His Dark Materials is already a classic but I am very upset that you think The Hunger Games is like the Big Brother TV show, which I’m afraid is a show I really don’t like and is in it’s 16th year here in the UK…a very long phase/trend! I think it would fairer to compare The Hunger Games to 1984 the classic novel that was the initial inspiration for the TV show.

  4. Oh, I missed this meme – must give it some thought! From your list the only ones I’ve read are the Potter books and I agree they will last and become classics. The Hunger Games I’m not so sure about – I think that might be a trend that passes and maybe the books will gradually be forgotten. I never managed to get into Pullman’s writing, but again agree they probably are classics – people who love them really love them and will doubtless be buying them for their children and grandchildren in years to come…

    1. FictionFan, I wouldn’t worry this meme question was only officially posted yesterday on The Classics Club site. I am pleased you think the Harry Potter and His Dark Materials will become classics too, but very sad you think The Hunger Games will be forgotten.

  5. Great choices! I absolutely agree with His Dark Materials! Even though it was published in 1999, I think The Perks of being a Wallflower have a fair chance to become a classic (if it’s not consider as one already), The Book Thief as well 🙂

    1. Thank you Ola 🙂 I haven’t read The Perks of being a Wallflower or The Book Thief, however I’ve heard good things about both if them and I really enjoyed the film adaptation of The Book Thief.

Leave a Reply

