Adaptations: June – July 2016

Blog - Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers here are the adaptations I’ve enjoyed over the last month or so on the small screen:

The Frankenstein Theory (2013)
Read     Film     Television

A ‘found footage’ horror film that follows Professor Jonathan Venkenheim and a film crew as they journey to the Arctic Circle in order to prove that Mary Shelley’s classic novel, Frankenstein, was based on fact. This film didn’t have a very good rating on Sky however I thought it was very amusing, creepy, and thankfully not too gruesome.

**


Game of Thrones (Series 6)
Not Read (yet!)     TV Series     Television

The lavish 6th series of this epic fantasy drama, based on George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire books. Another gripping and twisting adventure full of war, intrigue, family, politics, death, faith, love, lust, lies and dragons! Phew, this was one rollercoaster of a ride and, I think, the best season so far! I plan to catch up on the books in the looong wait for the next series.

***


Everest (2015)
Not Read     Film     Television

Dramatic action film that follows the survival attempts of two expedition groups during the 1996 Mount Everest disaster, which is recalled in the survivor Beck Weathers’ memoir Left for Dead: My Journey Home from Everest . A visually stunning and heart breaking film with a strong ensemble cast.

***


Love, Nina (2016)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

British, comedy drama adapted by Nick Hornby from Nina Stibbe’s book, Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life. This is an epistolary tale of the trials and tribulations of eccentric, bare-footed nanny, Nina when she moves from Leicester to Primrose Hill, London. A wacky and colourful adventure which made me smile.

**


I also enjoyed a re-watch of The Da Vinci Code (2006) and Angels & Demons (2009), which both star the wonderful Tom Hanks. I haven’t watched either in years and it felt high time to do so as: I recently read The Da Vinci Code, for the first time, and I am looking forward to the release of another of Dan Brown’s Langdon books, Inferno, later this year. Which means I have watched another 6 adaptations.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: June – July 2016

  1. Game of Thrones was so good, I’m sad we have to wait so long until the series continues. The movies I’ve watched recently that are adaptations include The Monuments Men, Bridge of Spies and Guardians of the Galaxy. I was thinking of reading Inferno to get ready for the movie.

    1. CJ, I am hoping to ease the long wait for the next season of Game of Thrones by catching up on the books. I loved Guardians of the Galaxy, and I would really like to watch The Monuments Men and Bridge of Spies. I hope you enjoy Inferno if you get round to reading it 🙂

    1. Lynn, I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed the Dan Brown/Robert Langdon films too – here’s hoping the next one is as equally good. I also highly recommend catching up with Game of Thrones!

  2. I agree with you that Season 6 of GOT has been the best so far…That Cersei! I also saw Everest and thought it was just OK, no fireworks. I liked the adaptation of Angels and Demons more than I did Da Vinci Code’s. The book DVC was incendiary; the movie pales in comparison.

    1. Carmen, it is great to hear you enjoyed the last series of Game of Thrones as much as me 🙂 I enjoyed The Da Vinci Code book and film pretty equally, but then I didn’t find the book particularly incendiary. Angels & Demons is my favourite book and film.

  3. I’ve read and watched the Da Vinci Code and preferred the book, which I read first. And I’ve watched Game of Thrones (now caught up and seen all the series) – and am planning to start the books as soon as I can.

    1. Margaret, I watched the film of The Da Vinci Code first as the hype and controversy surrounding the book put me off it. I’ve read the book now and re-watched the film, and feel I enjoyed both pretty equally.

      I am really pleased to hear you have caught up with all the Game of Thrones series, well done! I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the books – they add a lot more detail to the world and story. I have read 4 of the books, so far. I have the next book, A Feast for Crows, on my 10 Books of Summer list, so should hopefully be reading it soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

