Goodbye July, Hello August 2016

Month - July 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? July has been a hot, busy and emotional month for me. Working in a school I have been clearing out cupboards and folders, sending work home or to secondary schools, preparing the children for the move, rehearsing Year 6 performance and finally saying goodbye to the children I have worked with for the last 2 years!

And, looking to the future I have been planning, gathering resources and moving to a new classroom (I will be working in Year 5 again from September). As you can imagine during that I didn’t get a lot of reading done, however I have made up for that in just my first week of the long summer holiday:

Fiction: 4     Non-Fiction: 2     Poetry: 0

In July, I am pleased to say I have made more progress on my list for the 10 Books of Summer challenge; finishing 3 books. First, I read historical fiction Master of Shadows by Neil Oliver which swept me back to the bloody downfall of Constantinople. Next, I wanted something lighter and  comforting so I read Trouble at the Little Village School by Gervase Phinn, the second book in the Barton-in-the-Dale series. Finally, at the end of the month I read Volume 1: Stars of Colleen Oakes’ new young adult series Wendy Darling; a re-imaging of J M Barrie’s Peter Pan and Neverland. My thoughts on these last two books are still to be posted.

That means I have now read 5 of my 10 Books of Summer and I have already started reading my 6th! During July, I have also read the science-fiction, classic Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne, my result for the last Spin feature for The Classics Club. My thoughts on this book is still to be posted.

Alongside these fictions I also read two non-fictions. First, I read the thought-provoking, Christian devotional Let God’s Word Empower Your Prayers by Stormie Omartian. Then I really enjoyed mooching through Save With Jamie a recipe book by Jamie Oliver, which was full of yummy food ideas and tips on how to be a savvy shopper. Look out for me trying out these new yummy recipes in my cookbooks update posts.

Pick of the Month: Save with Jamie

That is 6 books finished in July which I am really pleased about. Throughout the month I have now and again dipped into The Secret Poisoner by Linda Stratmann; a history of poison and murder. And I started reading The School Inspector Calls! by Gervase Phinn and Mr Harrison’s Confessions by Elizabeth Gaskell.

In August, I am looking forward to my best friend’s birthday, visiting my mother on the south coast, helping with our church’s summer club, and taking advantage of the rest of the long summer holiday to read lots of lovely books.

What did you do and read in July? Do you have any plans for August?

13 thoughts on “Goodbye July, Hello August 2016

  1. Well done on a good reading month 🙂 Same as Helen, I’m interested in your thoughts on the Verne so I’ll have a look in a bit. What plant is that you have growing in the photo?

    I’m hoping to see more of my nephew and perhaps go on a couple of day trips.

    1. Thank you Charlie 🙂 I wish I could tell what plant that is! I took a cutting from a plant I was given with beautiful, little pink flowers on it but sadly the label has long gone. I hope you able to enjoy time with your nephew and a couple of day trips 🙂

    1. Haha no, I actually started The Secret Poisoner first but shamefully abandoned it as I was so excited to read Save with Jamie. Sounds like you’ve been reading We’ve Always Lived in the Castle too recently 😀

  2. Gosh the end of term is exhausting isn’t it. I hurt my back and broke my phone charger moving stuff around the last couple of days at school (long story). Happy holidays and hears to lots of reading time.

      1. Thank you Ali 🙂 The end of term is exhausting, but it does feel good to get as much done as possible for the new term – leaving you time to relax more over the summer holiday.

  3. I’ll look forward to your thoughts on Journey to the Centre of the Earth. You’re making good progress with the 10 Books of Summer too. Good luck with finishing the challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

