Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Favourite Film Adaptations

Blog - Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

REWIND – go back and do a topic missed over the years or recently or a topic you really want to revisit.

I started joining in with this meme earlier this year, so I have plenty of topics I’ve missed. Looking back at the extensive list of previous topics, I have decided to rewind back to Tuesday 9th July 2013 for: Top Ten Best/Worst Book To Movie Adaptations. I love watching adaptations and here are ten of my favourite film adaptations (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Blade Runner (1982)

Science-fiction, cult classic based on Philip K Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep. While the film deviates widely from the original story it sticks closely to the theme of what it means to be human. It is also visually stunning with strong characterisation and some wonderful dialogue. I think I slightly prefer it to the book.

~ 2 ~

Harry Potter (2001-2011)

A highly successful film franchise, with 8 films in total, based on J K Rowling’s magical children’s books. I understand that some of the films are better than others, but for me they are all fun, magical and comforting watches with a wonderful, largely British, cast. Of the films, my personal favourite is Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

~ 3 ~

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

A charming family adventure based on C S Lewis’ classic, children’s fantasy book. For me another magical and comforting watch with a wonderful cast and beautiful visuals. They made adaptations of Prince Caspian (2008) and Voyage of the Dawn Treader (2010) too, but I don’t think they are quite as good.

~ 4 ~

The Lord of the Rings (2001-2003)

Ambitious and highly successful film trilogy based on JRR Tolkien’s classic, high fantasy trilogy. These films still blow me away! Gorgeous cinematography, stunning visuals, stellar cast and you can just tell they were made with some real love.

~ 5 ~

Much Ado About Nothing (1993)

Romantic comedy based on William Shakespeare’s famous play and directed by Kenneth Branagh. A colourful, farcical romp completely made by Emma Thompson and Kenneth Branagh’s hilarious chemistry.

~ 6 ~

The Railway Children (1970)

A charming family adventure based on Edith Nesbit’s classic children’s book. I grew up watching this wonderful film – it was pretty much shown on television every Christmas holiday! While I enjoyed the later 2000 film too, it just isn’t the same without Bernard Cribbins!

~ 7 ~

The Secret Garden (1993)

A charming family adventure based on Frances Hodgson Burnett’s classic children’s book. This is another wonderful, touching film, starring the legendary Maggie Smith, which I grew up watching and was again pretty much shown on television every Christmas holiday!

~ 8 ~

Sense and Sensibility (1995)

A sumptuous period drama based on Jane Austen’s classic novel; starring the wonderful Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet. A beautiful, romantic and touching film that I don’t think I will ever tire of.

~ 9 ~

The Three Musketeers (1973)

A classic, swashbuckling adventure based on Alexandre Dumas’ classic novel. This is another film I grew up watching and while I’ve enjoyed newer adaptations, I still keep coming back to this one. For me you can’t beat Oliver Reed as Athos.

~ 10 ~

The Wizard of Oz (1939)

Finally, we have what is probably the best known and most successful adaptation ever made! The epic, colourful and magical musical based on L Frank Baum’s classic, children’s fantasy book. Need I say more?!

What are your favourite film adaptations? Also, please let me know and link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday rewind.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Favourite Film Adaptations

  1. I don’t have the energy to make a top ten list of adaptations. But tonight we watched the 2013 adaptation of James Thurber’s story, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. It was darn good!

  2. Great list! I’m especially glad to see Sense & Sensibility on there – undoubtedly one of my own favourites adaptations of all time too. And LOTR, of course! I’m glad to see you rate Bladerunner highly since I’m proposing to watch that as part of my film of the book thing soon… I’ve never seen it.

    1. Thank you FictionFan – it is great to hear that you love Sense and Sensibility and Lord of the Rings 🙂 I hope you enjoy Bladerunner, although make sure you watch the director’s cut version. I’m not sure you can easily get the original cinema version anymore but just in case, it’s not as good!

  3. Excellent choices. I agree, just wish they made The Hobbit with the same care…love as you say…as LOTR.

  4. Oooh you know so many adaptations!! I absolutely loved the adaptations of Harry Potter and The Railway Children too. Difficult to remember which films I’ve seen were adapted to the screen (a lot probably!) but one that I remember vividly is older: A Series of Unfortunate Events. That was so well done, and I was sd they didn’t adapt the whole series.

    1. Bina, probably shows just how much I like watching adaptations – I had to pick this topic as it was perfect for me 🙂 I also enjoyed the film of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events and I think it is a shame they didn’t make any more.

Leave a Reply

