Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books with a Fantasy Setting

Blog - Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books With X Setting

This week’s topic is one we can personalise – we could go with books set near the beach, books set in boarding school, books set in England, etc. I am a big fan of fantasy books and fairy tales, so I have decided to share my top ten books set in a fantasy world (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L Frank Baum

Set in the merry old land of Oz, where we travel the yellow brick road to the shining Emerald City.

~ 2 ~

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Set in Wonderland – a surreal, dream like place reached through a rabbit hole.

~ 3 ~

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Set in the brutal, dystopian state of Panem where people are separated into strict districts.

~ 4 ~

The Dark Tower by Stephen King

Set across All-World – a collection of parallel worlds which have started to bleed into each other as the old magic dies.

~ 5 ~

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C S Lewis

Set in the magical, winter-bound land of Narnia; discovered at the back of an old wardrobe.

~ 6 ~

A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin

Set across the epic Seven Kingdoms of Westeros.

~ 7 ~

Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett

Set on the magical Discworld which rides on the backs of four elephants, who in turn stand on the back of a giant turtle.

~ 8 ~

Percy Jackson & the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Set in Camp Half-Blood – a secret refuse for the children of the Ancient Greek Gods from us mundane mortals.

~ 9 ~

Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban by J K Rowling

Set in the Wizarding World which secretly coincides alongside us muggles (non-magical folk).

~ 10 ~

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien

Set across the epic, diverse and old Middle-Earth.

What are your favourite books with a fantasy setting? Also, please let me know and link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday rewind.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books with a Fantasy Setting

    1. Judy, I do think fantasy often equals fantasy – although in this post I was focusing specifically on fantasy settings, so any setting that is not real or full of magic would fit 🙂

  1. You picked some of my favorites: Oz, Narnia, Hogwarts. But I’d also want to visit McCaffery’s Pern with all the dragons, and McKillip’s realm where her Riddle Master series was set.

    1. Lark, I am pleased to hear we agree on so many 🙂 I’m sorry I couldn’t feature McCaffery’s or McKillip’s work because I’m afraid I haven’t read them! Sounds like I should give them a go though.

  2. Oh I’m doing fantasy this week too! FANTASY IS THE BEST ABSOLUTELY. And I absolutely love Narnia and Game of Thrones and Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. ❤ And the LOTR world is so epic but I've only seen the movies. #shame 😄 hehe Here’s my TTT!

    1. Hello Cait, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face, especially as we seem to have so many books in common 🙂 I’m popping over to check out your TTT post now!

  3. Well obviously – as you well know – I love your list. So probably no need to elaborate – other than to say I will eventually read the Dark Tower series.
    Lynn 😀

  4. Oz, Narnia, Wonderland, Discworld, and Middle-earth – you have definitely hit my high points here. I would add the fantasy settings of Diana Wynne Jones’s books, including Ingary and Dalemark. And the alternate worlds of His Dark Materials.

    1. Lory, I am pleased to see we agree on so many and great shout on the alternate worlds of His Dark Materials; I completely forgot about them! Sadly I still haven’t read anything by Diana Wynne Jones which I really must remedy.

Leave a Reply

