New Books: August 2016

New Books - Aug #3

Hello my fellow bookworms, after being so good in July I am now bringing you my second new books post in August, oops! Here are more goodies I have added to my bookshelf:

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson

Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett

On a recent trip to my hair dressers I had the chance to browse in some of my favourite bookshops. First, in the St. Giles hospice books shop I was pleased to find these two books. I am always looking to add to my Pratchett collection and this is a new-to-me story. And, after enjoying Ibbotson’s lovely young adults novel I have been keeping my eyes peeled for her children’s novels to try.

New Books - Aug #4

Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch

The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

Next, on the same trip I went in the Oxfam bookshop and found another two books. First, I found a nice compilation of Sherlock Holmes stories – I have previously read and loved these but that was on my Kindle; I am now pleased to have a physical copy for my bookshelf. Then, I was thrilled to find Moon Over Soho the second book in Ben Aaronovitch’s fantasy, crime series, because I already have book one and five on my TBR pile.

New Books - Aug #5

Surprised by Hope by Hope by Tom Wright

Finally, in the post arrived a second-hand copy of this Christian non-fiction which is the October required book for my church’s new book club. I am currently reading The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson for our first meeting in September.

Do you fancy any of these? What new book purchases have you made recently?

16 thoughts on “New Books: August 2016

  1. Great books!

    I’m a big fan of the Discworld series and I’m working my way through the books in order.

    I love Ben Aaronovitch’s series, but I need to catch up on the last couple of books. I’ve been lucky enough to meet Ben a couple of times 🙂

  2. Yay, new books 🙂 The cover of Moon Over Soho looks gorgeous. Glad you’ve another Pratchett, that’s pretty much a guaranteed win, isn’t it? It’s another I haven’t heard of so I look for to reading what you thought. I’ve not bought any books myself for a bit – trying to make a dent in the TBR pile.

    1. Charlie, finding a new Pratchett/Discworld book is always a win for me 😀 I had been very good with my book buying until recently but then I spotted lots of books by my go-to-authors. Its like buses: they’re are none and then they come along at once! However I have really cut down on my requests on Netgalley.

  3. There was a great second-hand bookshop near the shop of my last hairdresser and now I lament having made a change; I’d forgotten how much fun it was to link the two activities! Enjoy your new additions!

    1. Thank you B.I.P 🙂 How cool that you used to link second-hand book shopping and getting your hair done as well! I would be very sad to change hairdressers because of my hair and the books!

  4. Always good to have a paper copy of Sherlock Holmes handy and these first two volumes have most of the best stories in them, I think. What a good idea to have a book club attached to your church!

    1. If I remember correctly FF, I enjoyed the first two volume of the Holmes stories the best; I am looking forward to a comforting re-read. And, I am really looking forward to my church’s book club starting – it’s a new idea so fingers crossed it goes well 🙂

  5. I would like to read Journey to the River Sea as I love Eva Ibbotson but have only tried her young adult books so far. I hope you enjoy it – and the rest of your new books. 🙂

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 I have only read Ibbotson’s young adult books and one children’s book – hopefully this should be rectified soon as I now have Journey to the River Sea and The Dragonfly Pool on my bookshelf.

  6. So many shiny books…You must have been very good over the past month! The Sherlock Holmes one I read in my teens; it wouldn’t be a bad idea to re-read it.

    1. Carmen, I’m not sure I’ve been really good but I’ve definitely been lucky finding the books I want in charity shops…where you can’t not buy them, as they’re cheap and the money goes to charity 🙂

  7. These all look good to me – especially keen to see what you make of the Holmes book. This is a reminder to me to pick up Moon Over Soho and I love the Pratchett cover.
    Happy reading.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I have already read The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes separately on my Kindle and loved them; you can check out my full thoughts by going on my Classics Club page or by searching for the titles. And, thank you! I am looking forward to all of these 🙂

Leave a Reply

