Cookbooks: July – August 2016

Cookbooks Update

My fellow bookworms, there is one other thing I love as much as books and adaptations, and that is food! I am lucky enough to have all four of The Hairy Dieters cookbooks, from the nation’s beloved ‘Hairy Biker’ chefs, and I have not long finished reading through Jamie Oliver’s Save with Jamie.


Hairy Dieters #1

With the mixed weather, we invariably get here in the UK, this summer I have been eating salads but I have also tried these more hearty recipes from The Hairy Dieters:

Spicy Bean and Vegetable Stew
Book 1 – Stews – Page 97

My best friend has recently become a vegetarian, so when she came round recently I cooked this really hearty and comforting stew which is substantial enough to please veggies and meat eaters alike. I served it with a good lump of carrot, potato and cauliflower mash. Yum!

***


Paprika Chicken
Book 1 – Stews – Page 101

Looking to use some chicken thighs I had in the freezer I decided to try this low-calorie version of the popular Romanian dish of Paprikash. I’ve never tried it before, but I love paprika and I already had most of the ingredients in so I thought I’d give it a whirl. Tasty and easy to make – I will definitely be making this again.

***


Rich and Meaty Bolognese
Book 1 – Pasta & Rice – Page 164

A hearty, classic dish of mince beef and veggies slow-cooked in a rich herby, tomato sauce – if you are dieting they suggest serving this on a bed of lightly cooked cabbage or a small portion of pasta. I am no stranger to cooking bolognese, however I liked the addition of chilli flakes and courgette in this recipe and I will be making it this way again.

***


Save With Jamie

My family, friends and I love a curry – we often treat ourselves to a takeaway on a Friday night but they can often be unhealthy and rather expensive. As a replacement here is the latest recipe I have tried, this time from Jamie Oliver:

My Sag Aloo
Save with Jamie – Veg Recipes – Page 36

A classic Indian dish of spicy potato and spinach that could be served as a side to a curry or as a meal in it’s on right. As Jamie recommends, I served it wrapped in lettuce leaves with a good dollop of raita (mint and cucumber yoghurt) on top. Simple to make, cheap, well balanced and delicious.

***


Hairy Dieters #4

I also recently got my hands on Hairy Dieters: Fast Food, which is the 4th cookbook, which I still need to read through. So keep your eyes peeled for upcoming recipes from that as well as the other cookbooks.

Do you fancy any of these recipes?

What cookbooks are you reading? Have you tried any new recipes?

12 thoughts on “Cookbooks: July – August 2016

  1. Mmm… they all sound yummy! I’m such a lazy cook though, so I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of the Fast Food book – sounds like my kind of thing!

  2. Yum! Sag Aloo!! I do love his books, I made Jamie’s Pumpkin Chickpea curry just last week😃 But I tend to get most recipes from blogs nowadays, though books are much prettiest!

    1. Bina, I love Sag Aloo but I had never made it before. It was delicious! Even if I do say so myself 😀 I really like the sound of pumpkin and chickpea curry – where did you get that recipe from?

  3. These all sound delicious – I actually really like the sound of your mash the best though! I’m a sucker for mash – and cauli and carrots – oh yes, you had me at hello!
    Happy cooking
    Lynn 😀

  4. All these recipes sound yummy. I’m not that adventurous with food but the first two recipes sound like dishes I would like to eat. I look forward to your next post on Cookbooks for more updates.

  5. I have chicken thighs to make tonight. I will probably make up my own recipe but adding paprika sounds good!
    By the way, I watched the 1993 adaptation of The Secret Garden the other night. Did I learn of this movie from you? It was wonderful!!

    1. Judy, adding paprika is often a good idea 🙂 It is also very likely that you heard about The Secret Garden (1993) from me – it was recently on my Top Ten Tuesday list of favourite adaptations.

Leave a Reply

