Challenge: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI

RIP XI Main

(Thanks to Hugo Award winning artist Abigail Larson for the use of her art)

September is upon us my fellow bookworms which means we can look forward to cooler days, golden leaves, darker nights and taking part in the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI event; hosted by the lovely Carl V. I love this event as it perfectly embodies all the literature most associated with Autumn: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror and Supernatural.

Books I would like to read off my bookshelf:

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch
The Quarry by Iain Banks
O Jerusalem by Laurie R. King
Innocence by Dean Koontz
A Feast for Crows by George R R Martin
Drood by Dan Simmons

Books I would like to read off my Kindle:

Acqua Morta by Adam Bane
Blood on the Bayou D J Donaldson
The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle
Civil Blood by Mark Gelineau & Joe King
Cauldstane by Linda Gillard
The Curse Keepers by Denise Grover Swank

There are even more books I could choose, but I couldn’t list them all here! This event runs from 1st September to 31st October 2016. I have signed up for Peril the First level, which means I am aiming to read 4 books for the event. I am look forward to seeing what I will end up reading.

Are you taking part in the event this year? What are you hoping to read?

18 thoughts on “Challenge: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI

  1. Gosh you’ve got plenty of choices there! I must have a look at my reading list and see if I can join in – I’m sure I must have a couple of creepies coming up. Thanks for reminding me of this challenge – sounds like a fun one!

  2. I haven’t even thought of going through my Kindle for potential reads. I would probably find it frightening just how many unread books I have on there. Yikes!!! At least they aren’t fighting for shelf space.

    Thank you for being a part of RIP 11. Great list of books both electronic and print. Always enjoying seeing what folks might read.

    1. Carl V, I often forget just how many books are in my TBR folder on my Kindle because, as you said, I can’t physically see them in a towering pile, gathering dust!

      And, thank you for hosting this wonderful event again this year. I can’t wait to see what I will end up reading 😀

  3. Yay, I love R.I.P. and hopefully this darned weather will cool down and get suitably creepy!!
    Great selection! I really enjoy the Rivers of London series, the audio is also excellent.
    I’m not as brave as you and need to read for my own challenge in October so will do only 1 book but hey I can also always read more😃
    Happy reading!

    1. Thank you Bina 🙂 I have been looking forward to this event and I am pleased with the great selection of books I have to choose from. I hope you enjoy your RIP reading too; whether you read one or more books 😀

  4. Level 1 is a good place to start. I don’t know most of your titles but I look forward to the ones you review to see if I should add any to my TBR. 🙂

    1. Carmen, I hope I don’t add too much to your TBR 😛 Peril the First level is actually the top level. There is an option to just read one book which I always used to sign up to but I used to regularly read well over that, so I thought this year I should challenge myself more; even if it is just a little more 😀

  5. Good luck with all your books Jessica – I didn’t make a list because I’m just terrible at sticking to things!
    Hoping for lots of good books though!
    Lynn 😀

  6. Most of your e-choices are new to me but the others look like they make up a good combo. I’ve just started a novel by Canadian poet George Elliott Clarke, who retells the story of a brutal murder in 1949 New Brunswick. It’s brutal and beautifully told. This year, I’m not making much of a list in advance, because I usually ignore it anyway!

    1. BIP, sounds like you’ve make a great start on your suitably creepy reading with that poem. As for these lists, they’re just possible reads and I won’t be holding myself to them but it is nice to have some books in mind.

  7. I love this event too and have also signed up for the Peril the First level. I have read The Sign of the Four and Drood (and I think they will both be perfect RIP choices) but most of the others on your list are new to me so I’ll look forward to hearing more about them. 🙂

    1. Helen, I think it is very likely I will read The Sign of the Four as part of the event. It would also be great to finally get round to Drood; as its been on my TBR for too long! 🙂

Leave a Reply

