Adaptations: August 2016

Blog - Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve enjoyed, over the month of August, on the big and small screen:

Penny Dreadful (Series 3)
Read     TV Series     Television

The 3rd, final and best season of this lavish, gothic horror series! That brings alive the classic, horror characters of Dr Frankenstein and his monster, Renfield, Dr Jekyll, Dorian Gray and Dracula. Who join a host of original characters too, for the final, dark, gory and thrilling showdown on the streets of Victorian London. With a strong ensemble cast, including: Eva Green, Timothy Dalton and Josh Hartnett.

***


Vikings (Series 3)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

Epic, historical drama inspired by the legendary Norse sagas of Viking chieftain Ragnar Lothbrok. After successful raids in the kingdoms of Wessex and Mercia in Britain, Ragnar sets his sights on a new prize…Paris! Another gripping watch full of battles, politics, family, lust, lies and faith, with a strong ensemble cast. I can’t wait for more!

***


The Martian (2015)
Read     Film     Television

Science-fiction drama, based on David Weir’s popular 2011 novel, that chronicles the heart-racing, against-the-clock race to rescue astronaut Mark Watney (Matt Damon) from Mars. A visually stunning film with a stellar ensemble cast, which made me gasp and laugh in equal measure!

***


Suicide Squad (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

A new, action-packed superhero film, featuring DC Comics antihero characters: Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn, Captain Boomerang, El Diablo and Enchantress. I had heard many negatives feelings about this film however I am so glad I still gave it a go, because I thought it was a fun spin on a superhero film with a really cool soundtrack.

***


The Musketeers (Series 3)
Read     TV Series     Television

I have been looking forward to the return of this swashbuckling adventure series from the BBC , which colourfully brings alive Alexandre Dumas’ classic characters: d’Artagnan, Athos, Aramis and Porthos. A fun watch with great camaraderie, beautiful costumes and a good ensemble cast.

**


That’s 5 adaptations watched in August. Not my highest month but it has got to be some of the best quality television I have got to watch in a row for ages! While I still have plenty more to look forward to as, on my Sky+ box, I still have Wayward Pines (Series 2), Black Sails (Series 2) and brand new series Outcast and The Secret Agent to watch.

As for non-adaptations, I have been to the cinema to see the visually stunning Star Trek Beyond (2016)**. While on my television from Sky Box Sets I downloaded: the Manson-inspired crime series Aquarius (Series 1)*** which stars David Duchovny and from Sky Cinema I downloaded: the gothic film Crimson Peak (2015)** from director Guillermo del Toro; terrifying!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

10 thoughts on “Adaptations: August 2016

  1. I’m glad you loved Penny Dreadful. It was a great ending to the series, but I’m going to miss those characters; they were so good!
    I agree with you on The Martian (after a re-watch, as you know). I still have to watch Suicide Squad; just waiting for it to come out for rental. I haven’t watch Vikings, but you make sound so good it makes me want to watch it. I loved Crimson Peak, though it’s best appreciated if you don’t know much about the story.
    I have the miniseries Poldark on my queue to watch next; it’s just eight episodes but I think they are feature length.

    1. Carmen, I am going to miss the Penny Dreadful characters too; especially Vanessa and Ethan! Yes, I’d read your thoughts on The Martian however I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed Crimson Peak (I really had no idea what this film would be about!). I hope you enjoy Suicide Squad (as I said above, I have heard very mixed views of it) and I highly recommend watching Vikings as it is an amazing show! And, I have series 2 of Poldark set to record 😀

  2. I rather liked The Martian and Suicide Squad – I’ve not read the book of The Martian, but I have read various Suicide Squad comics, and it’s got the comicy vibe. I’m loving Mr Robot at the moment – the story just keeps getting better and better!

    1. Hello SmartGirl, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I am pleased to hear you liked The Martian and Suicide Squad too and I highly recommend reading The Martian by Andy Weir; I thought it was excellent – even better than the film and I loved that! I have heard of Mr Robot and seen it advertised but sadly I haven’t watched any of it.

  3. I enjoyed The Martian – probably not as good as the book but still very entertaining.
    Have you seen Stranger Things? I think you’d love it – think I watched it on Netflix. Eight episodes in total and it really is so good. It’s like a strange mash up of ET, Close Encounters, The Goonies and a Stephen King Horror film.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, it is great to hear you enjoyed The Martian too 🙂 And, I do love the sound of a mash up of “ET, Close Encounters, The Goonies and a Stephen King Horror film” as I love all of these, but sadly I don’t have Netflix so will only be watching Stranger Things if it comes to a channel I can get on Sky.

  4. As you know, I don’t have TV, though I sometimes watch series when they come out on Netflix. But I did see some good adaptations in August: Crimson Peak (I agree it was it was terrifying, though I guess not an adaptation), The Secret Garden 1993 version was the best one I have seen, The Invisible Woman, a disappointing adaptation of the book about Charles Dickens’ secret mistress, and End of the Tour, based on a book about a Rolling Stones journalist’s time with David Foster Wallace while he was on a book tour for Infinite Jest. I have not read DFW’s book but it was a good insight into a gifted writer. I love Will Smith so I will have to watch Suicide Squad.

    1. Judy, I haven’t heard of The Invisible Woman or End of the Tour however I am pleased to hear you enjoyed/were terrified by Crimson Peak and The Secret Garden (1993) is one of my favourite adaptations of all time 😀 And if you love Will Smith then Suicide Squad is definitely worth a watch for you 😛

Leave a Reply

