Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Favourite TV Shows

Blog - Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

In honor of Fall TV, do a TV-themed topic!

It is so true that autumn, with its cooler weather and darker nights, often brings with it an abundance of good television shows for us to snuggle down to watch. For this week’s TV topic I have decided to share with you ten of my favourite TV shows. It was sooo hard to dwindle it down to just 10 but here goes (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Band of Brothers (2001)

A stunning, dramatised account of “Easy Company” who are part of the US Army’s 101st Airborne Division during World War II. It is based on historian Stephen E. Ambrose’s 1993 book and it was produced by Stephen Spielberg and Tom Hanks. I just love the camaraderie between the characters and they are brought to life by a great cast, including: Damien Lewis, Ron Livingston, Donnie Wahlberg and many now big names in smaller roles; see if you can spot them!

~ 2 ~

Battlestar Galactica (2004-2009)

Epic reboot of the 1970s science-fiction series where we see the remnants of the human race fighting off their own deadly creations; the Cylons. I always tell people you don’t need to love sci-fi to enjoy this show – it is like the best, grittiest, human drama you can think of but which also happens to be set it in space with evil robots. What’s not to love?!

~ 3 ~

Blackadder (1983-1989)

A hilarious comedy romp which takes us from Medieval, to Elizabethan and Regency England and finally to the front of WWI. Written by the geniuses Richard Curtis and Rowan Atkinson and each series also starred Atkinson as Edmund Blackadder and Tony Robinson as Baldrick. A hysterical series with a lot of home truths and a poignant end.

~ 4 ~

Being Human (2008-2013)

A quirky, British supernatural drama which saw a vampire, a werewolf and a ghost house sharing in Bristol. Starring, the then, new faces of Aidan Turner, Russell Tovey and Lenora Crichlow. I thought this was such a cool show! There was an American version made but I won’t be watching it as I don’t think you could ever match let alone beat the original.

~ 5 ~

Doctor Who (2005-Present)

Does it really need any introduction? The longest running British science-fiction show, that sees the ‘Doctor’ and his companion flying through time and space in a blue police box. I can’t speak for the earlier series but I have loved and religiously watched this show since it was rebooted in 2005. We’ve had 4 ‘Doctors’ since then of which I think David Tennant is my favourite.

~ 6 ~

Dad’s Army (1968-1977)

A classic comedy which follows the exploits of the bumbling, Walmington-On-Sea platoon of the Home Guard during WWII. A funny and touching account of those who were too old or young to fight but still wanted to do their bit.

~ 7 ~

Emma (2009)

A sumptuous BBC period drama, based on Jane Austen classic novel, starring Romola Garai, Jonny Lee Miller and Michael Gambon. A touching and witty tale of a rich, young lady’s misadventures in rural community in Regency England. A beautiful and comforting watch which I will never tire of.

~ 8 ~

Game of Thrones (2007-Present)

A lavish, epic-fantasy drama based on George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire books. A gripping, twisting and rollercoaster ride of an adventure – full of war, intrigue, family, politics, death, faith, love, lust, lies and dragons! (I previously did a TTT post of why I love this series so much!)

~ 9 ~

Lewis (2006-2015)

An atmospheric crime drama set among the soaring spires and universities of Oxford; a spin-off from the Inspector Morse series. While there are many ingenious murders to solve, what I love most is the funny and touching relationship between Detective Inspector ‘Robbie’ Lewis and his sergeant James Hathaway. When ITV3 re-show this I can’t help turning it on.

~ 10 ~

Merlin (2008-2012)

A BBC fantasy drama, loosely based on the Arthurian legends, about a young wizard Merlin and his friendship with Arthur, the prince and future king of Camelot. Thrilling and fun adventures abound however what really makes this show is the hilarious chemistry between Merlin (Colin Morgan) and Arthur (Bradley James).

~ 10 + 1 ~

Strictly Come Dancing (2004-Present)

Okay, okay yes this technically cheating but how can I not mention this sparkling dance competition, as it has just introduced its new batch of brave celebrities for the 14th series! So top up your tan, grab your dancing shoes, throw on some sequins and keeeeep dancing!

Watched any of these? What are some of your favourite TV shows? Also, link in the comments if you have also taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Favourite TV Shows

  1. David Tennant is my favorite Doctor too! He was the ‘Doctor’ on the show when my husband first introduced me to the series and has been my favorite doctor ever since :).

    1. BJ, David Tennant was brilliant, wasn’t he?! It probably does help that he is the ‘doctor’ you started with. Before that it was Christopher Ecclestone but he only did one series so, like you, it is David Tennant that I remember the most at the start.

    1. Jo, it has made me so happy that you loved Merlin too; I thought that it might be a bit more obscure for some people. I am sorry to hear Doctor Who became to confusing for you, although I can sympathise.

      1. It probably is but I used to watch it every Saturday night, I love anything mythology related! I did used to love it, back when David Tennant was the Doctor, but it got too confusing around Matt Smith’s second series.

  2. Oh wow, I’ve only watched a little of two of these! (Although, to be fair, I’m not sure if some of these would be that accessible for me.) I’ve been wanting to watch Emma, though. (So many shows/books/movies, so little time!!!)

    1. Jessica, I can totally sympathise that there are so many shows, books and films, so little time! I highly recommend watching Emma it’s beautiful and hopefully should be quite easy to get on DVD or download the boxset.

  3. Mine so far are: Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones, Homeland, JAG, From the Earth to the Moon, John Adams, MI5 (the first three to four seasons, I didn’t watched the rest), Black Sails…
    I followed several more but never ’till the end because I used to get mad when there were cast changes, key plot changes, etc.

    1. Carmen, great to here you also love Game of Thrones and I really enjoyed Penny Dreadful and Homeland too; it was very hard to narrow so many great shows down to just 10! I am currently watching the second series of Black Sails and you’ve reminded me an actor has been changed in that – I agree it can be very annoying!

    1. Thank you SmartGirl – I am pleased to hear you like my list 🙂 I also have to agree that the end of Blackadder Goes Fourth is one of the best TV episodes ever made and so sad!

Leave a Reply

