New Books: September 2016

new-books-aug-2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I had such a splurge of new books in August that some books have had to be carried over into this month’s post. Here are those other goodies I have added to my bookshelf:

Dreaming Spires by Laurie R. King

The Language of Bees by Laurie R. King

Jingo by Terry Pratchett

Soul Music by Terry Pratchett

At the end of August, I had another chance to browse in some of my favourite bookshops. In the St. Giles Hospice bookshop I snapped up four books. First, two more of Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes mysteries which I have been keeping my eyes peeled for, after enjoying The Beekeeper’s Apprentice earlier this year. Secondly, I am always looking to add to my Pratchett collection and this time I found two books; both of which are new-for-me.

The Butterfly Summer by Harriet Evans

Then at the end of the long Summer break from work, I went to visit my mother who asked if I fancied reading this. I have never read anything by Evans before but the synopsis mentions a big, country house with a mystery; how could I not give it a try?!

Do you fancy any of these? What new book purchases have you made recently?

12 thoughts on “New Books: September 2016

  1. Lovely new books! Despite my best intentions, I have bought some new ones myself. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead which I am excited to read. Also I decided to read Mary Renault so I got one of her early books, The King Must Die. One of these days I would like to read Laurie R King.

  2. I love how the font of the Kings tell you so much about the books just in itself! You know what time period you’re getting. Always good to see your Pratchett finds 🙂

    I think I’ve heard of The Butterfly Summer – ‘rings a bell’ situation – and believe it’s meant to be very good. I’d probably read all of your new books!

    1. Charlie, I love the font on Laurie R. King’s books too, actually I generally love the style of the art deco period. Also, I hope The Butterfly Summer is the very good book you’ve heard about 🙂

    1. Helen, I have found the order of this series a little difficult because some books have been written later but are set earlier. I am hoping the order you read them in, after the first one, is not too important.

Leave a Reply

