Top Ten Tuesday: My Autumn TBR

Blog - Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Books On My Autumn TBR List

For me, Autumn means we can look forward to cooler days, golden leaves, darker nights and taking part in the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI reading event. So my reading is bound to dominated by mysteries, thrillers and other books on the darker and creepier side. Here are the 10 books I would like to get to this Autumn (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Acqua Morta by Adam Bane

A crime, thriller that has been hidden away in my Kindle’s to-be-read folder for too long! It sounds like it could be great for this time of year.

~ 2 ~

Blood on the Bayou D J Donaldson

A supernatural, crime novel which has also sat hidden away in my Kindle’s to-be-read folder for too long! Again, it sounds like it could be great for this time of year.

~ 3 ~

Civil Blood by Mark Gelineau & Joe King

I loved Best Left in the Shadows and I am looking forward to continuing this crime noir thread to the Echo of the Ascended series.

~ 4 ~

The Curse Keepers by Denise Grover Swank

The first book in a supernatural series which sadly has also sat hidden away in my Kindle’s to-be-read folder for too long! Again, it sounds like it could be great for this time of year and if I enjoy it, I have the whole series ready to read.

~ 5 ~

Drood by Dan Simmons

This historical mystery has been on my RIP and Autumn to-be-read lists more than once, but I haven’t got round to it – I think the size of it puts me off! Hopefully, this is the year!

~ 6 ~

Innocence by Dean Koontz

A mysterious horror/thriller that my father loved and passed on to me. If I end up reading this it will be my first novel by Koontz; who I have heard so much about.

~ 7 ~

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

I have a couple of du Maurier’s novels on my to-be-read pile but after hearing so much positivity about it this one – it feels like it is the one I should read next.

~ 8 ~

The Quarry by Iain Banks

A contemporary mystery that is another book my father loved and passed on to me. If I end up reading this it will be my first novel by Banks; who I have also heard so much about.

~ 9 ~

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

The first book in Aaronovitch’s supernatural, crimes series set in London which I am really looking forward to reading.

~ 10 ~

The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle

Sadly, the last classic Sherlock Holmes mystery I have left to read!

Have you read any of these? What are you hoping to read this Autumn? Also, link in the comments if you have also taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Autumn TBR

  1. Lots of books in there that sound as of they could be great reads! I haven’t read Dean Koontz either though I’ve sorta been meaning to for years – I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it. And since Iain Banks is Scottish, I really ought to give him a proper try sometime – I did start ine of his books once but it didn’t grab me, so I put it aside and then kinda forgot about it.

  2. I don’t often take part in Top Ten Tuesday but I put a list together for this week’s topic as there are so many books I would like to get to this autumn. You have some great books on your list. My Cousin Rachel is one of my favourite du Maurier novels, so I would definitely recommend reading it soon! Drood was an interesting read too and would be perfect for this time of year.

    1. Helen, I know how you feel, I have so many books but so little time to get to them all! I would really like to read My Cousin Rachel, as I haven’t read any du Maurier this year, and Drood, because it has been on my TBR pile for too long!

Leave a Reply

