Adaptations: September 2016

Blog - Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve enjoyed during September on the stage and small screen:

Outcast (2016)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

American, supernatural horror based on another comic book series from Robert Kirkman (The Walking Dead). This new series takes us to a small, US town where Reverend Anderson and outcast Kyle Barnes fight a plague of demonic possessions. A gripping and chilling drama that had me on the edge of my seat – I don’t usually watch shows this gory (I didn’t watch it alone!) but I was drawn in as it stars the brilliant Philip Glenister.

**


The Woman in Black (17.09.16)
Not Read     Play     Theatre

I snapped up tickets earlier this year, as a gift for my father, for a local theatre where the official tour of this hugely successful, West End production was visiting. A gothic, two man (one ghost) production which had us laughing, on the edge of our seats and jumping all over the place! Just brilliant, but not for the faint hearted!

***


The Secret Agent (2016)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

An Edwardian espionage, drama from the BBC, based on the novel by Joseph Conrad, which looks into the struggle and double playing between the police, politicians, Russians and a small group of anarchists in London. A well-crafted production with a great ensemble cast but sadly, it just didn’t grab me as much as I thought it would.

*


That’s 3 adaptations watched in September – not my lowest month but certainly not my highest either! However, I have also been watching the second series of Black Sails and I am looking forward to starting the second series of Wayward Pines.

As for non-adaptations, I watched the new, sumptuous, period drama Versailles which premiered, here in the UK, on BBC2. I’d recorded the whole series so I was able to watch it pretty much back-to-back and I can hardly wait for the 2nd series!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

10 thoughts on “Adaptations: September 2016

  1. I didn’t know Outcast was already broadcasting, so that’s another show to add to my list. I read The Secret Agent a few years ago and it’s definitely an interesting story. Any good actors in the series?

    1. CJ, Outcast premiered here in the UK on Sky Atlantic a couples of months ago, although I must admit I don’t remember a lot of advertisement for it. As for The Secret Agent it has a lot of good actors in it, including: Toby Jones, Vicky McClure (This is England) and Stephen Graham (Boardwalk Empire).

  2. As usual, I haven’t watched any of these! Sometimes I wonder why I have a TV at all. I did see The Woman in Black many years ago in London, though – don’t remember much about it, to be honest, except that we enjoyed it. The Secret Agent sounds as if it should have been good – pity it didn’t grab you more. Still, I might see if it’s on the iPlayer…

    1. FF, great to hear you enjoyed The Woman in Black too and I wouldn’t put you off watching The Secret Agent; even though it didn’t grab me it was an excellent production, with a great cast and a very interesting twist at the end.

  3. Great choices for October! Right now I’m watching the third season of Through the Wormhole with Morgan Freeman, a popular science show that is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

