Goodbye September, Hello October 2016

month-september-2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? I have had a warm and super busy September with starting a new school year at work, a visit to ICE 2016-Comic Convention, a trip to the theatre to see The Woman in Black and three schools trips: first, up Thorpe Cloud in the Peak District; next, to Cadbury’s World; and finally, to Bosworth Battlefield. Phew! With all that going on here is what I managed to read:

Fiction: 1          Non-Fiction: 1

In September, I finally got round to reading the latest historical fiction, The Queen’s Choice, from Anne O’Brien which swept me back to 1398 to meet Joanna of Navarre and her second husband Henry IV. Overall, not my favourite of O’Brien’s books but still a well-crafted story about two interesting figures in history.

Alongside that, I read The Hairy Dieters: Fast Food by Si King & Dave Myers; the fourth cookbook in their dieting series. I am not looking to lose weight particularly but I do love how down-to-earth and well balanced these recipes are; plus these new recipes can all be made in 30 minutes.

Pick of the Month: The Hairy Dieters: Fast Food

That is just 2 books finished in September which I am really disappointed with, especially as I don’t feel like I’ve read less. However I have been reading some real chunksters, including: A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin and The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas. As well as two Christian non-fictions: 90 Days Through the New Testament by Ron Rhodes and Surprised by Hope by Tom Wright.

In October, I have no fixed plans and I really hope to do more reading!

What did you do and read in September? Do you have any plans for October?

20 thoughts on “Goodbye September, Hello October 2016

  1. With those chunksters you’ve been reading and knowing how long O’Brien’s books can be, I’d say you did well! And that’s without considering the busyness, too. How are you finding the GRR Martin?

    Hope you’re having a good October 🙂

    1. Thank you Charlie, October is going well for me so far and I have just finished reading A Feast For Crows; it was very good! I also completely forgot that O’Brien’s novels are long too – I read The Queen’s Choice on my Kindle so I couldn’t see the thickness 😀

  2. I have such a soft spot for the Hairy Dieters/Bikers. I think you’re description, down to earth, is spot on. There is no pretense, just good food.

    1. Nikki, in hindsight I really have had a busy September and now I am looking forward to a quieter October 🙂 I am pleased to hear you’ve been enjoying some Discworld recently – I must read more soon!

  3. Oooh, Cadbury World! I reckon if I visited it, I might never come back… 😉 Reading chunksters always makes it look as if reading has slowed down somehow, and yet they can be so much more immersive than shorter books if they’re done well. Enjoy October’s reading! 🙂

    1. FF, Cadbury World was a lot of fun: I loved the 4D theatre, we got lots of chocolate and the air even smelled of it! I must agree it has been lovely to immerse myself in longer tales, even if its reduced my reading amount. I hope you enjoy your October reading too 🙂

  4. With such a busy month I don’t think you should be too disappointed with your two books – especially as you’re reading some very long ones as well! I hope you enjoy your reading in October. I often get tempted by events and challenges, but sometimes it’s nice not to have too many plans. 🙂

    1. Thank you Helen – I have really been enjoying immersing myself in long tales but they can seriously reduce the numbers finished. I am looking forward to a quieter October, during which I am only taking part in R.I.P. I hope you enjoy your reading in October too 🙂

  5. September has simply flown by – I just don’t know how it can be October already. Glad to read The Hairy Biker’s was your favourite read – I do like watching the two of them I must admit. September is a busy month for you with a new start to school so I think your reading perfectly reflects that. I’ve read quite a few this month but that’s because we went away for two weeks – unfortunately, plenty of reading means I’m now behind with reviewing! There is a happy medium somewhere!
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, September really has flown by and has been super busy, but in a good way 🙂 Plus one good thing about not having read that much is I am not behind on my reviews; for once this year! I hope you catch up on your reviews soon and that we both find that happy medium in October 😀

Leave a Reply

