Meme: The Bookish Time Travel Tag

the-bookish-time-travel-tag

After reading Jane @ Beyond Eden Rock wonderful answers I was thrilled to find I had been tagged at the end of her post. So let’s have a look at the wonderful books and authors which have transported me through time:

What is your favourite historical setting for a book?

I’m not sure I have just one favourite historical setting – I have enjoyed many books that have taken me back to the War of the Roses, Tudor and Victorian times, and the roaring twenties. Plus there are many more time periods I would love to be taken back to too.

* * * * *

What writer/s would you like to travel back in time to meet?

This is a no brainer for me, I would have to travel back in time to meet C. S. Lewis. Best known for writing the magical children’s series, The Chronicles of Narnia, as well as some powerful Christian literature. Over a nice cup of tea, I would love to pick his brain on the inspiration for Narnia and his conversion to Christianity.

* * * * *

What book/s would you travel back in time and give to your younger self?

If I had the chance, I would travel back in time to give my younger self a copy of the beautiful and inspiring Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Even though I loved this tale as an adult, I do wonder how much more I would have related with it when at an age nearer to the March sisters themselves.

* * * * *

What book/s would you travel forward in time and give to your older self?

If I had the chance to travel forward I think I might give my older self our family’s old, battered copy of The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien. Simply because I really want it to survive!

* * * * *

What is your favourite futuristic setting from a book?

I think my favourite futuristic setting is Panem from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t want to visit and I definitely wouldn’t want to live there, but it is a fascinating, intricate and believable setting to read about.

* * * * *

What is your favourite book that is set in a different time period (can be historical or futuristic)?

Ooo just one favourite book set in a different time period?! Okay, I will just go for the one that first came to mind which was Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. Although this novel doesn’t take the reader that far back, I do love how it allows us to glimpse the glamour and freedom of the 1920/30’s.

* * * * *

Spoiler Time: Do you ever skip ahead to the end of a book just to see what happens?

I don’t believe I have ever skipped ahead to the end of a book, however when reading Stephen King’s gripping series, The Dark Tower, I often skipped ahead a bit because I couldn’t sleep until I knew the characters would be okay!

* * * * *

If you had a Time Turner, where would you go and what would you do?

It might seem a bit simple but if I had a Time Turner I would use it to fit in more reading!

* * * * *

Favourite book (if you have one) that includes time travel or takes place in multiple time periods?

When it comes to multiple/dual time period novels the author I have been impressed by time and again is Susanna Kearsley. One of my favourite novels by her is The Rose Garden which actually involves some time travel as the protagonist moves between two time periods.

* * * * *

What book/series do you wish you could go back and read again for the first time?

I think this is perhaps the toughest question for me. One of my favourite books/series of all time is The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. While I would love to re-discover the magic of the first time I read them, I also love the familiarity and comfort I experience re-reading them too.

* * * * *

Now here are the fellow bloggers I would like to tag to take part (that weren’t already tagged in Jane’s post). There is no pressure to take part, I would just be interested in seeing your answers:

Have you enjoyed any of my choices? What great books have transported you in time?

19 thoughts on “Meme: The Bookish Time Travel Tag

  1. I’m the other way round to you – I read Little Woman and loved it as a girl, so much so that it was a book I reread and reread, but sadly when I reread it as an adult a lot of the magic had gone and I thought it was so moralistic, which I hadn’t noticed as a child. And I only read The Hobbit as an adult – I’m sure I would have loved it as a child!

    A difficult meme I think as I couldn’t settle on just one favourite for most of these questions!

    1. Margaret, I am sorry to hear that for you the magic was lost reading Little Women as an adult. One of my earliest memories is of my father reading me The Hobbit – it was amazing to discover it as a child but I think it is still a book that you can thoroughly enjoy as an adult too. I still regularly re-read it 🙂

  2. Wonderful answers Jessica. Since you can’t sit down with C S Lewis and ask him all your questions, I can recommend C S Lewis: A Biography by A N Wilson. He covers all the things you want to know including his relationship with Tolkien! One of my favorite time periods is the somewhat mythical one of King Arthur. My favorite book about that is The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley.

    1. Judy, I am glad to hear you enjoyed my answers and thank you for the C S Lewis recommendation. I also love Arthurian legend but sadly, I read little with this setting; so I will have to keep The Mists of Avalon in mind.

  3. Jessica – I love all your answers! An of course you got Du Maurier on here which i love. I was reading your list and thinking I’d love to do this tag – and you tagged me! Thanks 😀
    Lynn 😀

  4. I’ve enjoyed reading your answers – I haven’t finished deciding on mine yet. I love Susanna Kearsley’s dual time period novels too, although I think my favourites are probably Mariana and The Firebird.

    1. Helen, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed my answers and I look forward to reading yours 🙂 I would also count Mariana as one of my favourite Kearsley’s novels, but I am still to read The Firebird.

  5. What a lovely set of answers. I’m pleased to see that I’m not the only person who can’t settle on a favourite historical era, and I’m so pleased that you mention Susanna Kearsley’s ‘The Rose Garden’, because I loved it too and meant to mention how well it catches the magic of crossing over the River Tamar, from Devon into Cornwall.

    1. Thank you for tagging me Jane – glad to hear your enjoyed my answers 🙂 I think it is definitely far too hard to pick just one favourite historical setting! It is also great to hear you loved The Rose Garden too.

  6. Ooh, thank you for tagging me – I’ve seen a few of the posts people have done on this and had my fingers crossed I might get tagged! 🙂

    Great answers! I’m the other way round with Little Women – having loved it as a girl, I’m kinda afraid to re-read it in case it doesn’t match up to my memories. But it’s on my great American novel list, so I’ll find out!

    Ha! My sister has always said she’d like to be hit on the head and lose her memory so she could have the joy of reading The Lord of the Rings again for the first time. I’d settle for a time machine – sounds less painful…

    1. Your very welcome FF – I would love to hear your answers to these questions 🙂 I can sympathise with your conundrum about Little Women; I hope it lives up to your memories! And yes, a time machine sounds less painless than a bump on the head 😀

  7. Love your answers, Jessica, and, like you, I wouldn’t like to live in Panem. I have to say that while I agree with you on Susanna Kearsley, The Rose Garden is, up to now, my least favorite novel by her, precisely because of the time travel. I’m a practical person, you see.

    1. Thank you Carmen 🙂 I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy the time travel element of The Rose Garden – I am a practical person in life but in my reading I want to escape reality 😀

  8. Great answers Jessica! C S Lewis would be such a fascinating man to meet and talk with. And how could I forget The Hobbit – one of my all-time favourite books as a child (and again when I read it to my own children). With it’s Cornish connection, Susanna Kearsley’s The Rose Garden needs to be on my tbr list 🙂

    1. Thank you Sandra 🙂 It is great to hear you’ve loved and shared The Hobbit with your children. And if you want the Cornish setting and you enjoy smuggling, romance and time travel, then I highly recommend putting The Rose Garden on your TBR pile 😀

Leave a Reply

