Top Ten Tuesday: Literary-Inspired Baby Names

Blog - Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc.

I’ve decided to go with names for a child which has made it quite a tough topic. As there are so many cool character names I love, however would I necessarily name my child them i.e. Bilbo, Aslan, Katniss, etc…. perhaps not. After some thought though here are my favourite literary-inspired baby names (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Alain

Young gunslinger and childhood friend of Roland Deschain in the epic Dark Tower series by Stephen King. I think it is a bit different but not too out there to call a child in the real world.

~ 2 ~

Arthur

The legendary king and hero of the Medieval, Arthurian tales. A classic name which I secretly hoped Prince William and Kate would have chosen for their son, George, because when he grew up we could’ve had a real King Arthur!

~ 3 ~

Elinor

The strong, patient and selfless heroine of Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. A beautiful name and a wonderful character to be named after.

~ 4 ~

Elizabeth/Lizzie

The strong, independent and witty heroine of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. A beautiful, Biblical name and a wonderful character to be named after; plus we’ve had two great queens with the name too.

~ 5 ~

Diana

The magical protagonist of the All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness which also links back to the goddess of the hunt, moon and nature in Roman Mythology. A classic name that I have loved for some time.

~ 6 ~

Gabriel

The brave, steadfast hero of Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy. A strong, Biblical name and a great character to be named after.

~ 7 ~

Harry

The young, kind and brave protagonist of the magical Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. A good, traditional name but which is very popular at the moment.

~ 8 ~

James

The first name of the scheming and ingenious Professor Moriarty; archenemy of Sherlock Holmes in Arthur Conan Doyle’s classic mysteries. Another strong, Biblical name and a cool character to be named after.

~ 9 ~

Lisbeth

The alternative and kick-ass protagonist from the Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson. I think it is a bit different but not too out there to call my child.

~ 10 ~

Susannah

The female member of Roland Deschain’s Ka-tet in the epic Dark Tower series by Stephen King. A beautiful name which a few authors have too, although spelt differently, e.g. Susanna Kearsley and Suzannah Dunn.

What are your favourite literary-inspired baby names? Also, link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Literary-Inspired Baby Names

  1. I love Elinor and Gabriel, and I’m glad you went for the more traditional names. I’d like to call my mythical baby Anne Cordelia – that’s Ann-with-an-E obviously! I don’t think my mythical son would appreciate Aragorn, so maybe I’d have to stick with the Anne theme and call him Gilbert…

  2. Alain and Elinor are definitely my favorites on your list, followed by Gabriel…but for a different Gabriel. (I have a slight bookish crush on Daniel Silva’s Gabriel Allon.) I’m also partial to the name Lucy…for many literary heroines. Fun post! 🙂

    1. Lark I am pleased you enjoyed this post and like the names Alain, Elinor and Gabriel too. I don’t know Daniel Silva’s Gabriel Allon but I do love Lucy from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe 😀

    1. Thank you Carmen 🙂 I don’t know anyone with these names, however I have heard of people having the name Lisbeth and Susannah. I have never heard of anyone with the name Alain though.

Leave a Reply

