New Read: A Feast For Crows

a-feast-for-crows

After watching the sixth, and I think best, season of Game of Thrones to date, I was left feeling bereft! So I decided to throw myself back into George R.R. Martin’s epic A Song of Ice and Fire book series, that the TV show is based on. Next up for me to read was the fourth book: A Feast For Crows.

After some shocking deaths, Queen Cersei is desperately trying to keep her power and position through her second son, Tommen. However, his seat upon the Iron Throne is precarious, with him being only a child and the terrible rumours of his mother’s adultery and his subsequent illegitimacy. Even with a quick, advantageous marriage, to the beautiful and popular Margery Tyrell of Highgarden, they must still contend with two other strong claimants to the throne: Stannis Baratheon and Daenarys Targaryen. As well as a rebellion brewing in the South; bloody raids by the pirate Iron Lords; a deadly gang of outlaws; a militant faith movement and the coming Winter. Peace seems a distant dream for the Seven Kingdoms.

These books are peopled with a whole host of interesting characters, with each chapter focusing on a different character’s point-of-view. This book, unlike previous books in the series, focuses heavily on the characters in and surrounding the capital, Kings Landing. Which means we get to hear a lot from the point-of-view of Queen Cersei and her twin brother Jaime. Cersei is a cruel, manipulative character who will do anything for power but she also thinks she is protecting her family – I love to hate her! While Jaime started out just as bad he does at least seem to be changing and atoning for them now.

Meanwhile, a few chapters follow Brienne, the lady knight, who is on an important mission for Jaime; Sansa Stark who is hiding from the wrath of Cersei; Arya Stark who has travelled across the sea and Samwell Tarly who is making his way to the Citadel. Some very notable characters are marked by their absence though. We hear some rumours but sadly, see nothing of Jon Snow and Stannis Baratheon up on The Wall, or of Cersei’s hated brother Tyrion, or of Daenarys Targaryen across the sea in Slaver’s Bay. Jon, Tyrion and Daenarys (as well as Arya) are my favourite characters, so I really, really hope we will see more of them in the next book!

With so much action, drama and interesting characters I found it very hard to put this book down and considering the epic length, I reached the end before I knew it. Like the previous books, it is jam-packed with action, adventure, intrigue, love, war, lies, fighting, secrets, and shocks! I love Martin’s detailed and compelling writing and how he allows us to explore different cities, castles, and lands through the eyes of different characters. In particular, for the first time in this book we glimpsed the cold, brutal life on the Iron Islands and the tension growing in the hot, exotic land of Dorne. I warn you there are a lot of names, places, and events to remember in these books. However, I haven’t found it that hard to keep track, especially as there are fantastic maps and appendix to help.

A Feast For Crows is another excellent, epic fantasy adventure and drama. I can’t wait to read more and I should be able to fit another book in before the return of the TV show. Great read.

Have you read this or other books in the series? Are you watching the TV series?

R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI – 1/4

10 thoughts on “New Read: A Feast For Crows

  1. Mister BIP has read them all, and I know he’s hoping that I will join in but I’ve only read the first three and I didn’t enjoy them as much as you have. I’m seriously considering just watching for the rest of the series. But, then, I read something like this and I think maybe I’ll give them another try (I liked them, just didn’t love them, and I could read 3 or 4 other books in that time, y’know?). Sigh.

    1. BIP, I can sympathise that if you are not loving these books then you might wish to give up, as they are so long and yes, you could read a lot of other books instead. I have found it helps to watch the series and to read the corresponding book not long after. If you do give them another go, I hope you enjoy them more.

      1. That’s true. I did find it inspiring to watch, and it did make me trek down to the library for the next volume (the one you’ve just read, but I returned it in the end). Hmm. Maybe I won’t decide just yet…. 🙂

  2. I haven’t read the series, though I own the first two books. I have watched the series, however, and like you, I think Season 6 was the best one yet, particularly the last episode. My goodness! That was something else! 🙂

    1. Carmen, great to hear you’ve been enjoying Game of Thrones too and that you agree that the last series was the best 😀 The last episode was amazing but I am still not over the Hodor episode!

Leave a Reply

