Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (October)

Blog - Women's Classic Literature Event

Hello my fellow bookworms and classic lovers, it is time for the fourth check-in for The Women’s Classic Literature Event. Since the July check-in I have read:

Mr Harrison’s Confessions by Elizabeth Gaskell

Mr Harrisons Confession

After loving Cranford, I continued The Cranford Chronicles with this charming, comedy of errors when the young, worldly but naïve doctor comes to the small, provincial town of Duncombe.

**


That is 1 book read in 3 months which I am little disappointed with, however it does bring my total, so far, up to 7 books and I am very pleased with that. Now it is time for the October group question:

Share the most memorable scene from one of your reads for this event.

One of my favourite reads for the event, so far, has to be The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit. It has many memorable scenes I could mention: the children waving their white handkerchiefs at the passing trains; rescuing the young runner from the train tunnel and making flags of the girls’ red petticoats to stop the train. However, I would say my favourite has to be when Bobby, by chance, goes down to the train station to discover when the smoke clears that her father has returned; a really beautiful, memorable and poignant scene.

Have you been reading any classic female authors recently? What is your favourite memorable scene from a women’s classic?

16 thoughts on “Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (October)

  1. I have not read a women’s classic lately but recently finished Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld which is a brilliant retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in modern, I mean so modern, times!

  2. Nooo, I haven’t. In fact, glancing at my reading log, I can see that the list of classics in general is short (the Oz series, many rereads and some fresh reads is there, but a fella of course – and I’m only on book 8).

    Earlier this year I read Gloria Naylor’s The Women of Brewster Place (which I believe would be considered a modern classic, like The Color Purple) and Judith Kerr’s trilogy, which begins with the lovely When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (which was published in 1971). But oh dear, now I’ve seen the gap and I want to pull a bunch of classics off the shelves. Gee, thanks! 🙂

    1. BIP, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed some modern classics written by women earlier in the year, so it is a shame it dropped off. Now my post has reminded you, I hope you will be able to pick up some more classics written by women before the end of the year 🙂

      1. It might be more realistic to aim for next year at this point, but it certainly has influenced my thinking. Funny how an entire category can just fall out of your stack while you’re squeezing other kinds of reading into it!

  3. Hi, I’ve also read Mr. Harrison’s Confession and just wondering what it was with the book that you were disappointed with. To me it read very similar to Cranford and I enjoyed it on the same level as Cranford.

    1. Hello Marcelle, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face and great to hear you enjoyed Cranford and Mr. Harrison’s Confessions. What makes you think I was disappointed with it? I thought it was a charming and funny read 🙂

      1. Sorry. I went back and read the scentence again. When you wrote that “That is 1 book read in 3 months which I am little disappointed with” I thought you were refering to the book and that you thougth it was disappointing. I now see that you meant you were disappointed with only reading 1 book in three months. My bad. I was a bit confused with why someone would like Cranford, but not Mr Harrison’s Confession since they read so similar. XD

  4. I need to read The Railway Children! Finished Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte last week and enjoyed it very much (though not as much as Tenant of Wildfell Hall). Think I’ll reread Jane Eyre soon.

    1. JoAnn, I hope you are able to The Railway Children soon; it is utterly charming! I have yet to read anything by Anne Bronte, but I have heard great things about The Tenant of Wildfel Hall so I hope to read that soon 😀

  5. I’ve never read The Railway Children but loved the film. From the scenes you’ve chosen it seems as if the film must have been pretty faithful to the book. Seven classics by women is excellent! My favourite memorable scene would of course be Darcy’s proposal – the first one! 😉

    1. FF, I think both the 1970 and 2000 films do pretty much all the famous, major scenes from the book. The only one they missed was when the children rescue a baby from a barge that catches fire. Also good choice, Darcy’s first proposal is very memorable 😀

  6. I love all of the scenes you’ve mentioned from The Railway Children, but I agree with the one you’ve chosen as your favourite! I’ve read two women’s classics this month – A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf and The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe.

Leave a Reply

