New Books: October 2016

new-books-october-2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, recently I have managed to keep myself away from those tempting book shops. However, a few lovely, new books have winged their way to be by different routes. Here are the goodies I have added to my Kindle:

Class of ’59 by John A. Heldt

First, I was contacted by the author, John A. Heldt, about his new and fourth instalment to his American Journeys series. I have previously enjoyed his novel, The Mine, so I was happy to accept a review copy of his new novel.

The Lioness and the Spellspinners by Cheryl Mahoney

Recently, I hosted the wonderful author, Cheryl Mahoney, for a guest post on her use of fairy tale references in her new novel. Also, Cheryl kindly sent me a review copy of her new novel which I am super excited about reading.

The Plague Charmer by Karen Maitland

Then whilst having a mooch on Netgalley, I spotted Karen Maitland’s new historical fiction being offered to ‘read now’ – I had heard good things about it so I snapped a copy up.

Life of the Beloved by Henri J. M. Nouwen

The King’s Concubine by Anne O’Brien

Finally, I went on Amazon to find a copy of Life of the Beloved which is to be the third read for my church’s book club. Whilst there I spotted The King’s Concubine, an older historical novel, from my favourite historical author, Anne O’Brien, at a bargain price – how could I not snap up a copy?!

Do you fancy any of these? What new book purchases have you made recently?

14 thoughts on “New Books: October 2016

  1. New books are always a joy. Tonight after reading group at Barnes & Noble (do you have those there?) I bought John Irving’s A Prayer For Owen Meany. I have read it before and loved it but did not own a copy. Since one of my reading groups is discussing it in November, I decided to buy it and reread.

    1. Judy, I agree new books are a joy 🙂 We don’t have physical Barnes & Noble shops here in the UK, but I believe we can get the Nook and e-books now. Enjoy your re-read of A Prayer For Owen Meany and I hope that it proves to be a good book to discuss in your November book club meeting.

  2. I really enjoyed The Plague Charmer and hope you do too. I’m wondering about reading Anne O’Brien’s books – would you recommend I start with this one? Years ago I loved Henri Nouwen’s The return of the Prodigal Son, so I’m interested in your views on Life of the Beloved.

    1. Thank you Margaret 🙂 I’m afraid I haven’t read The King’s Concubine by Anne O’Brien so can’t really recommend it, however I have read The Forbidden Queen, The King’s Sister and The Queen’s Choice. I have enjoyed and could recommend them all, but my particular favourite was The King’s Sister. I hope that helps! I have also started reading Life of the Beloved by Henri Nouwen and I am enjoying it so far 🙂

  3. I’m glad you managed to get a copy of The Plague Charmer. I’ve got one too and am hoping to read it soon. And I’ll be interested to hear what you think of The King’s Concubine as I love Anne O’Brien’s books and haven’t read that one yet.

    1. Lynn, not sure how long it will take me to get round to Karen Maitland’s new novel, but last year, I read The Raven’s Head if you want to check my review out for that 🙂

  4. I’m trying hard to steer clear of NetGalley till I get through some of my backlog, but I’d really like to try Karen Maitland sometime. Maybe you’ll tempt me when you review it…

    1. FF, I can sympathise about Netgalley! I have a backlog too, so I have been only allowing myself to request books from authors I have enjoyed before. No more browsing allowed! Last year, I read The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland if you want to check my review out for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

