The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #46

The Classics Club Meme

Each month The Classics Club releases a question to get club members thinking, discussing and sharing; either on the official site or on their own sites. This month’s question is a rewind from August 2014, contributed by Teresa (who joined in 2012):

What are your thoughts on adaptations of classics? Say mini-series or movies? Or maybe modern approaches? Are there any good ones? Is it better to read the book first? Or maybe just compare the book and an adaptation?

If you are a regular reader on my blog you will know I love adaptations: whether that’s an adapted TV series, film or play of a classic or modern novel. Some of my favourite adaptations of classics are:

  • Bleak House (2005)
  • Emma (2009)
  • Great Expectations (2011)
  • Much Ado About Nothing (1993)
  • The Railway Children (1970)
  • The Secret Garden (1993)
  • Sense and Sensibility (1995)
  • The Three Musketeers (1973)
  • The Wizard of Oz (1939)
  • Wuthering Heights (1992)

Apart from Emma and Wuthering Heights, I watched all of these films and TV series before reading the books. A lot of them I grew up watching and while I was encouraged to read as a child, that didn’t general include many classics. Hence why I was so keen to join The Classics Club when it was announced back in 2012. However now I have read all of these and loved them!

What is your favourite adaptation of a classic? Also, link in the comments if you have taken part in this month’s Classic Club meme too.

18 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #46

    1. Hello Anne, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I am pleased to hear you enjoyed my answer to this month’s meme question.

  1. Oh gosh- I love bleak house, that version of emma, much ado, secret garden, sense and sensibility and wizard of oz!! In fact every single one of these adaptations in your list that I’ve seen, I love 🙂

  2. There are some great adaptations. I thought the BBCs Pride and Prejudice was brilliant and in fact could watch that again now! Bleak House is another adaptation that was excellently done – and of course, I have to add my favourite – Lord of the Rings.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Bleak House too and I also enjoyed the BBC’s 1995 adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, but I also love the 2005 film – I couldn’t pick between them for this list 😀

  3. I love adaptations too, though I don’t seem to have been watching as many of them recently. No Pride and Prejudice??? But I agree about Bleak House and Sense and Sensibility – both great adaptations. Can’t believe Bleak House was that long ago…

    1. FF, I was shocked that the BBC’s brilliant Bleak House adaptation was back in 2005 too! And, I am sorry no Pride and Prejudice – my list was already long and I didn’t want to have to pick between the BBC’s 1995 series or the 2005 film?! 😀

  4. I just finished watching the first season of Poldark and thought it was fantastic! Mini-review to come.
    Among my all time favorite adaptations are: Gone with the Wind, The Thorn Birds (miniseries), North and South (miniseries), Sense and Sensibility (1995), The Lord of the Rings trilogy, Atonement, Anna and the King, Game of Thrones (series)… I can’t think of more now.

    1. Carmen, I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed watching the BBC’s adaptation of Poldark – I enjoyed watching it last year and now, I am about to start watching the second series. I also love The Lord of the Rings and although I also love Game of Thrones, I’m not sure the books its based on are old enough to count as classics just yet 😀

  5. By the way, Jessica, I have not received an email notification about your posts since Oct 20, even though I am signed up here for that. I don’t want to miss anything so I have bookmarked your blog but I sure did like getting those email notifications!

    1. Judy, I am sorry to hear your have not been receiving your email notification from my blog. I am afraid I have no control over the subscription or emails, that it is run by my host WordPress. I can only suggest checking your spam folder – I had some my email notifications for other blogs go there a few times.

Leave a Reply

