Adaptations: October 2016

Blog - Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve watched during October:

Wayward Pines (Series 2)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

A science-fiction drama, produced by M. Night Shyamalan and based on the novels by Blake Crouch. The small, mysterious town of Wayward Pines has a new resident and a threat from the outside world threatens its very existence. Slightly less mystery to this 2nd series but still a gripping tale which is full of twists and turns.

**


Wuthering Heights (1939)
Read     Film     Television

A classic adaptation of Emily Brontë’s novel, which follows the stormy relationship of Cathy (Merle Oberon) and Heathcliff (Laurence Olivier). I loved the cinematography and moody atmosphere of this film but I was a little disappointed that the children/next generation were left out completely.

*


The 5th Wave (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

Science-fiction, thriller based on Rick Yancey’s popular, young adult novel, which follows Cassie (Chloë Grace Moretz) as she tries to survive the five deadly waves of attacks on Earth from a hostile alien race. This didn’t have a very good rating one Sky, but I am glad I gave it a go because I thought it was an exciting, fun watch.

**


Inferno (2016)
Read     Film     Cinema

The third Robert Langdon thriller based on the bestselling novel by Dan Brown. Langdon finds himself in a race against time, following clues based on Dante’s Inferno, to stop a deadly virus being released. A thrilling adventure, in stunning locations, with another great performance from Tom Hanks. Sadly, they changed the ending!

**


During October, I also enjoyed hilarious re-watches of Clueless (1995) and Deadpool (2016) , which means altogether I have watched 6 adaptations – a good month.

As for non-adaptations, I watched the fourth series of the brilliant Ripper Street, a Victorian crime series set on the streets of Whitechapel, in the East End of London. Another gripping, bloody series which had the most almighty cliff hanger ever!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

14 thoughts on “Adaptations: October 2016

    1. Lynn, I highly recommend watching Ripper Street 😀 It was shown on the BBC so I guess that’s terrestrial TV? Although the third series was also shown on Amazon Prime first then on the BBC.

  1. In October I watched the film adaptation of Seven Days in May-excellent! Also saw the film adaptation of Winter’s Tale, a novel by Mark Helprin that I read and loved earlier this year. The movie is beautiful to look at, the love story is tragic and magical, but it rather missed the point of the novel, I thought.

    1. Judy, I’m afraid I haven’t seen or read either of these adaptations or books. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Seven Days in May so much and it is a shame you were disappointed with a Winter’s Tale.

    1. Hello, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I hope you are able to see Deadpool soon and that you enjoy it, as I think it is hilarious and so much fun 😀

  2. I think the only adaptation I’ve watched in a while is of Poldark, season 1. As you know, I loved it!
    I have seen two adaptations of Wuthering Heights, more contemporary than the one you mentioned; one from 1992 starring Ralph Fiennes and Juliette Binoche (I thought that was meh), and the other from 2009 starring Charlotte Riley and Tom Hardy (I liked this one).
    I haven’t watched the 5th Wave because I read lousy reviews of it.

    1. Carmen, I read about how much you enjoyed series 1 of Poldark – I really need to start watching series 2! I actually really enjoyed the 1992 adaptation of Wuthering Heights, but I haven’t seen the 2009 adaptation starring Charlotte Riley and Tom Hardy – I think Tom Hardy is great though, so I will have to keep my eyes peeled for that 🙂 As for reviews and ratings, I tend to ignore them now and give anything I fancy a go, because many films with bad reviews I have ended up loving 😀

  3. The only one of those I’ve seen is the 1939 Wuthering Heights film. I remember being disappointed that half of the story was left out too.

    1. Helen, it is comforting to hear you were also disappointed with the 1939 adaptation of Wuthering Heights – I was feeling a little guilty for not loving a classic film with Laurence Olivier in 😀

  4. Oh, I must look out for the film of The 5th Wave! I didn’t exactly love the book (I think I’m several centuries too old for it!) but I can see how it could be a fun movie…

Leave a Reply

