Goodbye October, Hello November 2016

month-october-2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? October brings Autumn to the UK and with it cooler weather, golden leaves and darker evenings. One of my favourite times of the year, where I am able to start wearing my comfy boots, cook hearty stews and soups, and snuggle up in a blanket with a good book.

During this month, I have been working hard with my new class at work and I had a lot of fun attending the Star Trek 50th Anniversary Convention at the NEC, but that still left me plenty of time for reading. Here’s what I managed to read:

Fiction: 5          Non-Fiction: 1

I started the month off, by finishing the amazing A Feast For Crows by George R.R. Martin; the fourth book in Martin’s epic A Song of Ice and Fire series. Staying with the dark fantasy theme, I next read Civil War by Mark Gelineau & Joe King; the second book in the crime noir thread to their epic Echo of the Ascended series. Then, I continued my R.I.P reading with the classic mystery, The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle, off my Classics Club list, and the cosy mystery, Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet by M C Beaton. Finally, I squeezed in supernatural, crime fiction Blood on the Bayou by D J Donaldson. My full thoughts on the last three books still to be posted.

Alongside these fictions, I also read Christian non-fiction Surprised by Hope by Tom Wright – the second choice for my church’s book club, which made for an interesting discussion. My full thoughts on this book are still to be posted.

Pick of the Month: A Feast For Crows

That’s 6 books finished – much better than in September! Through out the month, I have also been dipping in and out of The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas and 90 Days Through the New Testament by Ron Rhodes. While I have also started reading  and Christian non-fiction Life of the Beloved by Henri J. M. Nouwen.

In November, I am looking forward to Bonfire Night, celebrating my mum’s and stepdad’s birthdays, and getting stuck into the Pathways to Ministry course, with a few other ladies from my church. Plus, more reading of course!

What did you do and read in October? Do you have any plans for November?

10 thoughts on “Goodbye October, Hello November 2016

    1. Thank you Charlie 🙂 I am so pleased with my recent reading and it was a little bittersweet to read the last, for me, of the original Sherlock stories. I haven’t heard of Magda Szubanski’s memoir – I do hope you continue to enjoy it though 🙂

  1. I am glad to know that you also had a good reading month. I posted my October list yesterday: http://keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2016/11/books-read-in-october.html
    I once read The Rule of Four and remember it as a great read.
    Also, on the adaptations theme, you may remember I read Epitaph in September, a novel about Wyatt Earp and all. Then my husband read it and last night we started watching the movie Wyatt Earp starring Kevin Costner. We are having fun with that!

    1. Thank you Judy 🙂 I am pleased to hear you had a good reading month too and I will be popping over to see your list soon. Also really pleased to hear you and your husband are enjoying the adaptation of Epitaph in September – not a book or film I know but I do like Kevin Costner 😀

    1. FF, I’m afraid no dressing up because I realised too late I had nothing Star Trek related! While I was there, I got myself a red t-shirt like the classic uniform that Uhura wore 😀 I haven’t posted my full thoughts on The Sign of the Four.

  2. Jessica you had a great month. Well done you and happy reading this month – also (I remembered this weekend when I was book sorting and came across it) – that I need to send you the Harry Potter book! I’ll do that this weekend.
    Happy reading.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

