Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Fantasy Films

Blog - Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Movie Freebie

Previously, I have shared my top ten favourite film adaptations. As well as adaptations, I grew up on a large healthy dose of 80s fantasy films, which helped to make it one of my all-time favourite genres. So here are my top ten favourite fantasy films (in alphabetical order):

~ 1 ~

Conan the Barbarian (1982)

Cult classic film which follows the adventures of Conan in a fantasy, pre-history word of dark magic and savagery; based on the stories of Robert E. Howard.

~ 2 ~

Dark Crystal (1982)

A Jim Henson and Frank Oz film that, for the time, uses ground breaking animatronics to bring alive the dark world of the kind Mystics, the evil Skeksis and the lone surviving Elfling.

~ 3 ~

Excalibur (1981)

Visually impressive retelling of the legends of King Arthur and the knights of the Round Table; apparently based on the 15th century Arthurian romance by Thomas Malory

~ 4 ~

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009)

All of the Potter films are fun, magical and colourful with wonderful, largely British, star studded casts. The Half-Blood Prince is narrowly my favourite of the eight films.

~ 5 ~

Jason and the Argonauts (1963)

An absolutely classic film which used Ray Harryhausen’s stop motion animation to vividly retell the legendary adventures of the Ancient Greek hero Jason.

~ 6 ~

Labyrinth (1986)

Another Jim Henson film which uses puppets in young Sarah’s surreal quest for her baby brother, who has been taken by the Goblin King. Starring the late, great David Bowie.

~ 7 ~

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

A beautiful adaptation of C S Lewis’ classic children’s adventure in the magical land of Narnia.

~ 8 ~

The Lord of the Rings (2001-2003)

Visually stunning and well-loved adaptation of J R R Tolkien’s classic, high fantasy novel, that takes us on an epic adventure across Middle Earth to destroy the one ring.

~ 9 ~

The Princess Bride (1987)

A cult classic, romantic comedy which gently pokes fun at the standard tropes of fantasy and fairy tales; adapted by William Goldman from his own novel.

~ 10 ~

The Wizard of Oz (1939)

Finally, we have what is probably the best known and most successful fantasy film. An epic Technicolor musical based on L Frank Baum’s classic children’s book.

What are your favourite fantasy films? Also, please let us know and link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Fantasy Films

  1. I’m surprised the Neverending Story is not here. That’s an obvious favourite for many people. The book is much better, but the film is still a classic. I actually didn’t like the Dark Crystal that much. It’s my least favourite of the Big Four (Neverending Story, Labyrinth, Dark Crystal and Legend) It didn’t feel dark enough at all, and it really was lacking compared to other Jim Henson films. Jen and Kira’s chemistry was flat as a pancake, the romance between them was almost non-existent and the story itself was unappealing and boring. That’s just my opinion though. I know it’s loved by a lot of people but it just didn’t do it for me.
    I;m so glad you included The Princess Bride and Labyrinth. I have to admit Labyrinth is a bit of guilty pleasure for me. It’s not all that great, but David Bowie is so amazing in it you cannot not love it. I would personally would not want to see Labyrinth remade because no one could ever replace David as Jareth. The part was written for him.

    1. Onii, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I actually have The Neverending Story, Labyrinth, Dark Crystal and Legend all on DVD which I regularly enjoy re-watching, but as you can see I was only allowed to choose 10! So I went with my gut reaction and I prefer Labyrinth and Dark Crystal. I am sorry to hear you don’t agree, however it would be a very dull world if we all liked exactly the same things 😀

    1. Nikki-Ann, I highly recommend catching up on those you haven’t already seen from my list, especially if you’ve enjoyed those you have seen. I didn’t find The Wizard of Oz scary as a child, however the ‘wheelers’ in Return to Oz used to terrify me…actually they are still pretty terrifying now 😛

  2. I’ve only seen about half of these, I’m not much of a movie buff- but I really enjoyed the ones on the list that I have seen, so I definitely want to check out the others, especially Jason and the Argonauts- I don’t think I have ever even heard of that one!

    1. Hello Girl About Library – thank you for stopping by and commenting, it always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 Although I must admit I can’t believe you have never even heard of Jason and the Argonauts! When I was growing up, they used show it, here in the UK, on the TV every Christmas holiday. I highly recommend a watch…though I am a little biased obviously 😀

  3. Well, I always love your lists and this week is no exception as I’ve seen and loved all of these. I couldn’t possible pick a favourite – they’re all films that I love to rewatch.
    Lynn 😀

  4. The Dark Crystal and the Labyrinth are movies I haven’t seen (or even thought of) in a very long time. My sister loved both of them, so I also had to watch them over and over. The Princess Bride and The Wizard of Oz were more up my alley. My kids love them now.

  5. Great choices. The LOTR trilogy is my favorite. My two favorite Harry Potter movies were The Chamber of Secrets and The Prisoner of Azkhaban. I haven’t seen Labyrinth and I didn’t like Excalibur (on my recent second watching; too theatrical for my taste).

    1. Thank you Carmen 🙂 Great to see the LOTR trilogy is a favourite for so many and The Prisoner of Azkhaban is a very close second to Half-Blood Prince for me. As for Excalibur the theatricalness is what I love about it 😛

  6. The Lord of the Rings is an absolute favourite. Would Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl rank as fantasy? It is definitely a favourite! Here are my top ten. 😀

    1. Risa, great to hear that The Lord of the Rings is an absolute favourite for you too. And, I think you could Pirates of the Caribbean as fantasy, with its cursed treasure and walking, talking dead crew 😀

Leave a Reply

