Cookbooks: November 2016

Cookbooks Update

My fellow bookworms, I am sorry that it has been so long since I updated you on the recipes I have been trying from my cookbooks. The fact is I have been cooking over the last 3 months, but generally not new recipes. Instead opting to make some well-loved and tested recipes, such as: The Hairy Dieter’s Sausages and Rich Onion Gravy (Book 2 pg42) and Very Easy Thai Chicken and Coconut Curry (Book 1 pg144).

However, as the weather started to take a distinctly colder turn I found myself craving some new, hearty and comforting recipes to try. First, I tried these Jamie Oliver recipes:

Save With Jamie

Mushrooms on Toast
Save with JamieBonus Recipes – Page 261

Mushrooms fried with butter, garlic and thyme, poured on a chunky piece of toast, makes an easy and quick meal for one. I didn’t have any balsamic vinegar so I used a splash of Worcester sauce instead, yum and a good way to use up the spare mushrooms I had.

**


Happy Frumpy Minestrone
Save with Jamie – Veg – Page 68

A hearty, Autumnal take on a classic Italian minestrone soup – full of vegetables: swede, carrots, onions, tomatoes, peas, spinach and broad beans. It fed me and my father (with seconds too), and I still had 4 portions to freeze. A cheap, tasty and healthy recipe, I will be making again.

***


Hairy Dieters #2

Next, I tried this recipe from the nation’s favourite ‘Hairy Biker’ chefs, Si King and Dave Myers:

A Big Soup
The Hairy Dieters 2 – Meals on the Move – Page 130

And they’re not lying… this is a big soup of spicy chorizo, tomatoes, cannellini beans and the ‘super food’ curly kale. Again, I fed me and my dad and then I froze 3 portions, which will make some warming, work lunches. A tasty, wholesome soup which was good on the taste buds as well as being good on the waist line.

**


mrs-beetons

Finally, I found myself with a hankering for the spiced parsnip soup of my childhood. So I dug out my copy of The Best of Mrs Beeton’s British Cooking to try this classic recipe:

Spiced Parsnip Soup
Mrs Beeton’s – Soups – Page 19

A simple, classic soup which is warming and very seasonal for Autumn/Winter. I switched out the cream for milk, but it still turned out thick and creamy. Another yummy soup for my work lunches.

**


Hairy Dieters #4

Earlier this year, I also read Hairy Dieters: Fast Food and while I bookmarked many yummy looking recipes, I have yet to try any. So keep your eyes peeled for upcoming recipes from that as well as my other cookbooks.

Do you fancy any of these recipes?

What cookbooks are you reading? Have you tried any new recipes?

8 thoughts on “Cookbooks: November 2016

  1. I recently bought Minimalist Baker’s Everyday Cooking, and have tried a few recipes. So far, so good. Our favourite so far being the smokey BBQ veggie burgers.

    1. Naomi, I haven’t heard of the Minimalist Baker’s Everyday Cooking before, however great to hear you have enjoyed the recipes you’ve tried so far. I like the sound of smoky BBQ veggie burgers 🙂

Leave a Reply

