The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #47

The Classics Club Meme

Each month The Classics Club releases a question to get club members thinking, discussing and sharing; either on the official site or on their own sites. This month’s question is a rewind from January 2013:

What is the best book you’ve read so far for The Classics Club — and why? Be sure to link to the post where you discussed the book! (Or, if you prefer, what is your least favourite read so far for the club, and why?)

When I originally answered this question in 2013, less than a year into the club, I think I chose Little Women by Louisa May Alcott as my best read. An utterly charming novel that chronicles the struggles, tribulations, and joys of the four March sisters as they grow from children into women. I would still rank it as one of my favourites, but now, 4 years and 8 months into the club, I couldn’t possibly pick just one favourite!

Since then, I have read the deliciously gothic The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle, which was another great Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson mystery. Also A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, the heart-warming, redemptive tale of the famous miser Ebenezer Scrooge on Christmas Eve. As well as, two more utterly charming children’s novels: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and The Railway Children by E Nesbit. And, I could list many more as I have read many wonderful books because of the club. These were just the books that immediately came to mind.

What has been your favourite read of The Classics Club? If you’re not taking part in the club, what is your favourite classic?

Also, share your link in the comments if you have taken part in this month’s Classic Club meme too.

13 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #47

  1. I also enjoy reading the Secret Garden this year. I suspect I will always be a fan of children books, no matter how old I grow. It is always a thrill to watch children explore and learn manners and that is what happened in The Secret Garden.

    1. Hello Noirfifre, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 It is also great to hear I am not the only one who still loves children’s books 😀

  2. The Secret Garden was a book I read over and over as a child. I haven’t dug too deeply about it in my psyche but I think it played a huge part in making me who I am.

  3. Since I’ve only reviewed one book for the CC so far, it’s an easy choice for me – 4.50 from Paddington! Thrilled to see both Dickens and Holmes on your list – I knew you were a woman of excellent taste! 😉

Leave a Reply

