Adaptations: November 2016

Blog - Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve watched on the big and small screen during this month:

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)
Read     Film     Cinema

The long awaited, spin-off prequel to the Harry Potter film franchise, which is inspired by J K Rowling’s fictional textbook. We travel back to the Wizarding World in 1936 to follow Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne) and his case of magical creatures in their extraordinary adventures in New York. A truly wonderful, fantasy romp with a more adult edge, which had me grinning from ear-to-ear!

***


Dark Angel (2016)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

A gripping, two-part historical drama starring Joanne Froggatt as the serial killer Mary Ann Cotton, who is feared to have poisoned up to 21 people with arsenic; adapted from a criminology by David Wilson. Froggatt is stunning in this dark, twisted tale of love and betrayal, and worst of all it’s true!

**


Victor Frankenstein (2015)
Read     Film     Television

Fantasy, horror film, based on Mary Shelley’s eponymous character, that imagines how radical medical student Frankenstein (James McAvoy) works with circus hunchback Igor (Daniel Radcliffe) to create a monster! On release this received negative reviews, but I am glad I gave it a go as it is a bit of fantastical fun.

*


That’s three new adaptations watched. However I have also started watching the highly anticipated and controversial second series of the BBC’s Poldark.

As for non-adaptations, I watched the second series of the BBC’s Our Girl; a gripping army drama starring Michelle Keegan as new character, Lance Corporal Georgie Lane.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: November 2016

  1. I have not seen any of the ones you mention. But I signed up for Netflix streaming this week and watched The Fundamentals of Caring, the adaptation of Jonathan Evison’s The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving. I loved Evison’s book but the movie was a bit lacking I felt as far as capturing the author’s full meaning in the book.

  2. I haven’t seen any of those. I’m about to start Season 2 of Outlander, and I’m waiting for Season 2 of Poldark to end to reacquaint myself with Season 1 and follow with Season 2.
    BTW, why is Poldark’s Season 2 controversial? I haven’t read or heard anything about it.

    1. Carmen, I hope you enjoy series 2 of Outlander and your re-watch of series 1 of Poldark. The second series has raised controversy over a scene from the book which today would probably be viewed as rape – there were people angry over showing it but also those who thought it should stay as it was in the book that way. I haven’t got to that episode yet though.

Leave a Reply

