Goodbye November, Hello December 2016

month-nov-2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? November has been a cold and dark month here in the UK! However despite the weather, I spent a wonderful weekend on the south coast celebrating my mum’s and stepdad’s birthdays. I have also got stuck into the Pathways to Ministry course – a really interesting and thought provoking course, but that does involve quite a bit of reading. Here is what else I have managed to read:

Fiction: 0          Non-Fiction: 1

My one and only book finished in November was Christian non-fiction Life of the Beloved by Henri J. M. Nouwen, which I read for my church’s book club. I thought it was a well-written and inspiring guide, that was a good boost for me living in a majoritively secular society myself.

Pick of the Month: Life of the Beloved

I would usually be pretty down on myself for finishing just one book, however I know I have actually been reading a lot but just not finishing them! I have made big progress through some very long books: The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas and 90 Days Through the New Testament by Ron Rhodes (30 days left!). Plus I am over 3/4’s of the way through Innocence by Dean Koontz and I have started re-reading The Screwtape Letters by C S Lewis, which is the next book for my church’s book club.

In December, I am looking forward to finishing a lot of these books, breaking up from work for the holidays and celebrating Christmas; of course!

What did you do and read in November? What are your plans for December?

12 thoughts on “Goodbye November, Hello December 2016

  1. Just think how many books you’ll have this month when all your current reads conclude!! I have that sometimes when I have two or three books but just don’t manage to finish them – then it looks like I’ve read 3 books just as the month gets underway!
    And Christmas to look forward to! Yay.
    Have a great December.
    Lynn 😀

  2. You must be a reader who has several books on the go at once, as you say you have read lots but not finished books. I have never been able to cope with several books on the go at once.

    1. Ali, I usually have 3 books on the go: one fiction, one classic and one non-fiction. They can’t be to similar for me because, like you, I would get confused and not cope well. I only had 4 books going this time because I needed to re-read The Screwtape Letters for my church’s book club.

  3. It sounds as though you’ve been doing plenty of reading, even if you haven’t managed to finish many books. I still need to read The Man in the Iron Mask for the Classics Club and am hoping to start it in the next few days. 🙂

  4. Good luck finishing all the books in progress… your December totals will be much higher, I’m sure. I read nonfiction for all of November. Now I’ve started Commonwealth by Ann Patchett and will read an Amy Tan novel for my book club after that. No other plans for December… yet 😉

Leave a Reply

