Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors in 2016

blog-top-ten-tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

I have been very lucky to have enjoyed a great mixture of well-loved authors and some great new authors too. Here are my top ten new-to-me authors I have read so far this year (listed in the order I read them):

~ 1 ~

Laurie R King

In February, I finally got round to reading The Beekeeper’s Apprentice the first in King’s Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes mysteries. I am looking forward to reading more.

~ 2 ~

Virginia Cowles

Also in February, I read Cowles’ The Romanovs a fascinating history of the ups, downs, dreams, disasters and extreme personalities of the Romanov dynasty in Russia.

~ 3 ~

Elizabeth Edmondson

In March, I finally got round to reading Edmondson’s sweeping, romantic mystery The Villa in Italy and I was very pleasantly surprised!

~ 4 ~

Elizabeth Gaskell

In April, I read Gaskell’s classic novella Cranford and I loved it so much I continued reading her chronicles with Mr Harrison’s Confessions in August.

~ 5 ~

Andy Weir

Also in April, I read Weir’s amazing, science-fiction drama and debut novel The Martian. Later in the year, I watched the equally amazing film adaptation starring Matt Damon.

~ 6 ~

Margaret Skea

In May, I read Skea’s stunning historical fiction Turn of the Tide and quickly followed it up with A House Divided in August.

~ 7 ~

Joanne M Harris

In June, I read Harris’ first adult fantasy novel The Gospel of Loki, an interesting and refreshing twist on Norse mythology.

~ 8 ~

Lyndsay Faye

In August, I read Faye’s Jane Steele; a cool and refreshing twist on Jane Eyre which fortunately didn’t disappoint my high expectations and excitement about it.

~ 9 ~

Mark Batterson

Also in August, I read Batterson’s inspiring Christian non-fiction The Circle Maker for my church’s book club, which made for a great discussion piece too.

~ 10 ~

D. J. Donaldson

Then finally at the end of October, I read Donaldson’s gripping mystery Blood on the Bayou. I would like to read more of Donaldson’s mysteries starring the detective duo of Andy Broussard and Kit Franklyn

What are your favourite new-to-you authors this year? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors in 2016

  1. I read Lyndsay Faye for the first time this year too, and she would make my list if I had done one! Along with Helen, the other two authors I have read are King and Gaskell, both great choices. It had been a while since I’d read any of the Mary Russell mysteries, but I enjoyed The Murder of Mary Russell this year. And Cranford is always a favorite comfort read.

    1. Lory, great to hear you love King and Gaskell too, and that Faye would have made your list too. I have three more of the Mary Russell mysteries on my TBR pile to look forward too 🙂

  2. I love your list. A few on here that I’ve not read and a reminder to self to bump Gaskell up the list – although the book I have of hers is so huge!
    Lynn 😀

  3. I’ve only read three of those authors – Laurie R King, Elizabeth Gaskell and Lyndsay Faye. I’ll have to investigate some of the others on your list!

Leave a Reply

