Top Ten Tuesday: My 2017 TBR

blog-top-ten-tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017

I have read many great books in 2016 and yet there are still plenty I was hoping to read this year but I haven’t quite managed it. So here are ten of those books I hope to read early next year:

~ 1 ~

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

I was hoping to read this, the first book in Aaronovitch’s supernatural crime series, this Autumn but sadly didn’t get round to it. Therefore, I definitely need to get round to it early next year.

~ 2 ~

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

For me, The Classics Club challenge will be ending in March 2017 and as this has been on my list from the beginning, 5 years ago, it would be great to squeeze it in before the end.

~ 3 ~

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

This year, I have read the novellas Cranford and Mr Harrison’s Confessions by the wonderful Gaskell. Again before The Classics Club ends, it would be great to squeeze in one of her full-length novels.

~ 4 ~

Cauldstane by Linda Gillard

Gillard is one of my favourite authors and earlier this year, I was thrilled to top up my Kindle with three of her novels. This is one of them which I think I fancy reading first.

~ 5 ~

The Agincourt Bride by Joanna Hickson

After reading Hickson’s Red Rose, White Rose, I was looking forward to reading more with this but then it disappeared! Turns out my Kindle, for reasons only it knows, decided to archive it. Now I’ve rediscovered it, I can’t wait to read it again.

~ 6 ~

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson

Over the years I have enjoyed many of Ibbotson’s charming young adult novels. Starting with this, I am looking forward to reading more of her children’s novels.

~ 7 ~

A Letter of Mary by Laurie R King

After reading The Beekeeper’s Apprentice at the beginning of this year, I really must continue next year with King’s Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes mysteries.

~ 8 ~

The People the Fairies Forget by Cheryl Mahoney

I am really looking forward to delving back into Mahoney’s whimsical, fantasy world with this, her third novel, which I hope to follow up quickly with her fourth book: The Lioness and the Spellspinners.

~ 9 ~

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

I have been meaning to read this all year! Yet I have never seemed to have the time or the right mood, so I really must get round to it early next year.

~ 10 ~

The King’s Concubine by Anne O’Brien

O’Brien has become my go-to author for my historical fix. After enjoying her new release The Queen’s Choice this year, I am looking forward to reading this which is one of her older novels.

What are you hoping to read in early 2017? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My 2017 TBR

  1. I will add to the love for My Cousin Rachel. At this point I am still racing to finish up my 2016 reading plans. I guess I will think about 2017 on New Year’s Day. Ha Ha.

  2. My Cousin Rachel is one of my favourite du Maurier novels and A Tale of Two Cities is my favourite Dickens, so I hope you’ll have time for both of those in 2017. I would love to know what you think of them. Laurie R King, Eva Ibbotson and Anne O’Brien are all authors I would like to read more of too – and I have a copy of Joanna Hickson’s new book, First of the Tudors, which I’m hoping to read soon.

    1. Thank you Helen, I am excited about My Cousin Rachel and I have wanted to read A Tale of Two Cities for too long! Hopefully we are both able to enjoy more from Laurie R King, Eva Ibbotson and Anne O’Brien next year. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on First of the Tudors by Joanna Hickson – I did request it on Netgalley but sadly haven’t heard anything back.

    1. Thank you FF, I have been wanting to read A Tale of Two Cities for too long! As for The Classics Club, I have loved taking part and I definitely want to continue reading more classics, but I would like to try some other challenges too. So we will have to see 😀

  3. I must read My Cousin Rachel too, plus Rebecca. I own both and I’ve never read any Du Maurier’s.
    Good luck with all your reading prospects. I hope you get to them this winter.

    1. Thank you Carmen and I hope you enjoy Rebecca – I thought it was wonderful. Hopefully we will both be able to read My Cousin Rachel soon; it seems to be on a lot people’s immediate TBR’s 😀

Leave a Reply

