Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (December)

Blog - Women's Classic Literature Event

Hello my fellow bookworms and classic lovers, it is time for the fifth and final check-in for The Women’s Classic Literature Event. Since the October check-in I have read:

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie

Christie’s first published novel which introduces her famous and well-loved detective Hercule Poirot. My full thoughts on this book are still to be posted.

***


That is one more book read over the last two months (although I am currently reading Flower Fables by Louisa May Alcott too) but the event has now come to an end…

which means my final total is…

8 books

Overall, I am really pleased with this amount – I read a whopping four books by Edith Nesbit and two books by Elizabeth Gaskell; and six of those books were off my Classics Club list too. Here is my complete list:

  1. Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier
  2. The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit
  3. Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit
  4. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  5. The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit
  6. The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit
  7. Mr Harrison’s Confessions by Elizabeth Gaskell
  8. The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie

Now it is time for our final group question:

‘If you could meet any of the authors you read for this event, which one would you meet, & why? What would you ask her?’

All of the authors I have read for this event are wonderful, but if I can only go back and meet one of them I think I would choose Daphne du Maurier. She lived through some amazing times: first, the roaring 20’s, then two World Wars, next the swinging 60’s and finally the 70’s and 80’s too. She will have seen some great technological advances and the world change rapidly around. She also lived to see many of her novels become bestsellers, continue to printed through out her life and to be adapted into glamorous Hollywood films. Finally, she died just a year after I was born aged 81 years old. I think she would be a hive of information and experience. In particularly I would like to ask her about the film adaptations of her work, as apparently she wasn’t a huge fan of most them. One of the few exceptions, is Alfred Hitchcock’s Rebecca (1940) which is one of my favourite films.

Have you read any of these books or authors? Have you read any other classic female authors recently?

10 thoughts on “Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (December)

  1. Well done! You’ve read some great books for this event. I didn’t answer the group question, but I would probably have chosen Daphne du Maurier too. I’ll look forward to your thoughts on the Agatha Christie book. 🙂

  2. I think Daphne du Maurier would be my choice too, though I’d also like to meet Agatha Christie – though I’d be scared she might try out her next murder method on me! Eight is brilliant – well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

