My Top 10 Books of 2016

blog-2016-books

Hello my fellow bookworms, 2016 has been another great year of reading for me. Now it is time to round-up my favourite 10 books from the past year; these are new-to-me books but were not necessarily published in 2016. It took some time to whittle it down to just 10 however here’s my final choices (ordered alphabetically by author):

~ 1 ~

The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles

The Romanovs

An epic non-fiction that chronicles the ups, downs, dreams, disasters and extreme personalities of the Romanov dynasty; from the unwilling Tsar Michael (1613-1645)  to the doomed Tsar Nicholas II (1894-1917). A fascinating, colourful and educational read for me.

~ 2 ~

The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle

the-sign-of-the-four

While this was the last one for me to read, it is actually Doyle’s second mystery novel to feature his famous, private sleuth Sherlock Holmes and lovable sidekick Dr Watson. What can I say other than this is another excellently crafted mystery.

~ 3 ~

The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson

The Villa in Italy

A sweeping, romantic suspense set in the Renaissance Villa Dante on the beautiful Italian coast; which had me hooked with family rifts, forbidden love, heartbreak, war, divorce and ethics.

~ 4 ~

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye

jane-steele

The highly anticipated retelling of gothic classic Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. And, with a beautiful, lush setting; a colourful cast of characters; a gripping mystery and a darker edge it didn’t disappoint.

~ 5 ~

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

Cranford

Finally I read my first Gaskell! Which was an utterly charming tale of the day-to-day lives, trials, tribulations and joys of a small, rural town’s inhabitants. I loved it so much I read Mr Harrison’s Confessions later in the year.

~ 6 ~

Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley

Named of the Dragon

Another immersive and gripping mystery from one of my favourite authors. This time I was swept away to the beautiful, ancient coastal town of Angle, Pembrokeshire; where I was hooked by the history, Arthurian legend, romance and magic of it all.

~ 7 ~

A Feast For Crows by George R.R. Martin

a-feast-for-crows

After watching the sixth and perhaps best series of Game of Thrones, I threw myself into the fourth instalment in Martin’s excellent, epic fantasy series. Like the previous books, it was jam-packed with action, adventure, intrigue, love, war, lies, fighting, secrets, and shocks!

~ 8 ~

Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett

Witches Abroad

My eighth jaunt into Pratchett’s magic, weird and fantastical Discworld. Where I re-joined the witches – my favourite set of Discworld characters, so far – Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg and young Magrat for another hilarious adventure.

~ 9 ~

Turn of the Tide and A House Divided by Margaret Skea

Turn of the Tide

Technically two books but they both tell the dramatic tale of the bloody feud that ran between the Cunninghames and Montgomeries, during the reign of the young James VI of Scotland. An utterly gripping and fascinating trip back to the 16th century.

~ 10 ~

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian

Stunning debut novel that follows astronaut Mark Watney after he is stranded on Mars! A gripping and immersive science-fiction drama which had me on the edge of my seat and, surprisingly, laughing from start to finish.


With so many great reads in 2016 honorary mentions must also go to fictions: Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau and Joe, The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M Harris, The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown, Blood on the Bayou by D. J. Donaldson and The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie. And Christian non-fictions: Out of Darkness by Stormie Omartian and The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson. Plus cookbooks: Save With Jamie by Jamie Oliver and The Hairy Dieters: Fast Food by Si King & Dave Myers. Finally, I also loved re-reading The Screwtape Letters by C S Lewis.

Have you read any of these? What were your favourite books in 2016?

30 thoughts on “My Top 10 Books of 2016

  1. Great list Jessica. Glad you’ve had such a good year of reading. There are some lovely books on here – I’ve not read that particular Kearsley book but I will eventually.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I’m glad to see a Discworld book in there, especially Witches Abroad as I read it this year too 🙂

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. All the best for the new year! 🙂

  3. That’s a nice, varied list. I enjoyed Cranford and Named of the Dragon too and I would love to read the two Margaret Skea books. I hope you find more great reads in 2017. 🙂

    1. Helen, I have been so lucky to enjoy some great, varied books in 2016. And, thank you I hope you enjoy more great reads in 2017 too – hopefully that might include Margaret Skea’s books 🙂

  4. Great list, Jessica! I, too, loved The Martian and Named of the Dragon. I bought The Romanovs because of your review. I’ll probably pick it up this upcoming year.

  5. Glad to see The Sign of the Four and The Martian made your list! And you’ve reminded me that I really must read Margaret Skea sometime. Here’s to more great books in 2017! 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for including me. I’m honoured! Margaret Skea

Leave a Reply

