Goodbye December 2016, Hello New Year!

month-dec-2016

Hello my fellow bookworms and a happy New Year! December whirled by for me in a blur of shopping, writing cards, wrapping presents, visiting family and friends, church services and my work’s Christmas do. Fortunately I got to enjoy the special day with my mum and family in a quiet and relaxed way. In amongst all that I managed to read these:

Fiction: 5          Non-Fiction: 0

I started the month off by finishing, in quick succession, supernatural thriller Innocence by Dean Koontz; the classic The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas and a re-read of The Screwtape Letters by C S Lewis for my churches book club. All of which I actually started reading back in November.

Then later in the month, once I was down at my mum’s house and I had the chance to curl up in the conservatory with a blanket, cup of tea and a good book, I reached for some comforting reads. First, I read fantasy adventure Wendy Darling, Volume 2: Seas by Colleen Oakes; the second book in Oakes’ young adult series inspired by J M Barrie’s Neverland. Then, I immersed myself with Hercule Poirot in his first outing in The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie.

(Except for Innocence by Dean Koontz, my full thoughts on these books are still to be posted)

Pick of the Month: The Mysterious Affair at Styles

That’s 5 books finished and a good month of reading I think. Through out the month, I have also been reading 90 Days Through the New Testament by Ron Rhodes (nearly finished!) and I started Flower Fables by Louisa May Alcott. I also started but didn’t finish Sister Mercedes and the Temple of Doom by Brian Petti; due to it not being my kind of humour.

In January, I am looking forward to celebrating my birthday and what the new year will bring me reading wise.

What did you do and read in December? What are your plans for January and the new year?

22 thoughts on “Goodbye December 2016, Hello New Year!

  1. I’m interested to know if you found the Ron Rhodes book helpful / inspirational? Would you recommend it? And a Happy New year to you too.

  2. It sounds as though December was a good month of reading for you. I love Agatha Christie and still have a lot of Poirot books to read. I’m hoping to find time for some of them in 2017.

  3. I love any Poirot novel so I’m pleased to see you enjoyed The Mysterious Affair at Styles. I’m trying to work my way through the whole series of Poirot books.

Leave a Reply

