Challenge: What’s in a Name 2016/2017

What's in a Name 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, it is time to round-up my reading for the What’s in a Name 2016 challenge; hosted by Charlie at The Worm Hole. This was my first time taking part but the premise is simple: read books with a title that fits the six categories provided. Here is what I read:

Annoyingly I had books lined up for the last two categories, but I just didn’t have time to read them. However seeing as this is my first attempt, I am pretty impressed with 4/6 completed.


challenge-name-2017

That’s not all folks! Now it is time for What’s in a Name 2017 challenge; also hosted by Charlie at The Worm Hole. Here are the new categories and in brackets are the books I could read for each:

  • A number in numbers (Class of ’59 by John A. Heldt)
  • A building (The Shack by William Paul Young)
  • A ‘X’ somewhere in it (Richard Nixon: A Very Brief History by Mark Black)
  • A compass direction (North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell)
  • An item/s of cutlery (re-read: The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman)
  • Two words with the same first letter (The Trysting Tree by Linda Gillard)

For those new to this challenge it runs from January to December 2017; the books read can be any format (print, audio, e-book); books cannot overlap categories; and it’s preferred that the books don’t overlap with other challenges. Apart from that I can read what I want in what order I want.

Did you take part in 2016? Are you taking part in 2017?

8 thoughts on “Challenge: What’s in a Name 2016/2017

    1. Charlie, I was thinking along the more obvious lines for a building, but then I realised The Shack is my February read for my church’s book club. And, Happy New Year to you too 😀

    1. Lynn, last year this and the Classics Club were my only year long challenges. The others were short ones like Once Upon a Time and R.I.P, and they already fitted what I like to read anyway. I don’t do complicated either 🙂

Leave a Reply

