Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017

blog-2016-stats

Hello my fellow bookworms, it is time to say goodbye to 2016 and hello to 2017, and what better way to do that than with a few reading stats:

Books Read: 55           New Reads: 51              Re-Reads: 4

Fiction: 43                Non-Fiction: 12

In 2015 I finished 62 books so I am down this year. This might be because while my fiction reading is pretty much like for like my non-fiction reading has almost halved. However, I am still very pleased with the amount and the quality of books I read. Now for some fun meme categories to help me reflect on what I’ve been reading in 2016:

  • Best Fiction A Feast For Crows by George R.R. Martin
  • Best Non-Fiction The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles
  • Best Classic Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Best Re-ReadThe Screwtape Letters by C S Lewis
  • Best Series You Discovered Psammead by Edith Nesbit, Echo of the Ascended by Mark Gelineau and Joe King and Wendy Darling by Colleen Oakes.
  • Favourite New-To-Me Authors – Margaret Skea and Elizabeth Gaskell.
  • Most Memorable Character – The clever and hilarious Mark Watney from The Martian by Andy Weir.
  • Most Read Genre – Fantasy (18), Classics (12), Mystery (10) and Historical Fiction (6)
  • Multiple Reads of an Author – M. C. Beaton (2), Elizabeth Gaskell (2), Mark Gelineau & Joe King (4), Deborah Harkness (2), Edith Nesbit (3), Colleen Oakes (2), Stormie Omartian (2), Gervase Phinn (2), Margaret Skea (2)
  • Ambitions for 2017 – I would really like to make more time for re-reading old favourites and reading new books by favourite authors.

What did you read in 2016? Any ambitions for 2017?

12 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017

  1. Happy New Year Jessica. Hope you have a fantastic 2017. All the best to you and your family and I look forward to reading your thoughts on your books to come.
    Lynn 😀

  2. This is a great way to look back on your year of reading. I don’t think numbers are all that important as long as you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read. Good luck with achieving your ambitions for 2017 – I’m determined I’m going to make time for some re-reads this year too.

  3. This looks like a great reading year to me, even though your numbers were down. I especially like your ambitions for 2017… I didn’t have any rereads this year (a shame) and am forever wanting to read more books by authors I already know and love. Happy reading in 2017!

  4. Even though your reading was down from the prior year, I think you had a great reading year overall. It seems you enjoyed lots of books in your chosen categories.

  5. 55 is great so long as the quality is good, and it seems like you’ve had some enjoyable reading! I’d like to make more time for re-reading too, and for catching up with favourite authors – it’s just finding the time… maybe this year, eh? Whatever you read in 2017, may it give you pleasure! 🙂

  6. How lovely Jessica to be included in your favourite new-to-me authors of 2016. Thank you!

    By the way, there should be two more historicals coming out by the end of the year / early 2018 – one in the same series and one stand alone. (And I’ve just brought out a short story collection.) It’s encouragement from reviewers and bloggers that keeps me going.

Leave a Reply

