New Books: December & Christmas 2016

new-books-jan-2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, the number of acquisitions has gone up a fair bit from my saintly three review copies in November, however it was Christmas! If you can’t treat yourself then, when can you?! Here’s what I added to my Kindle and bookshelf over the festive period:

Runemarks by Joanne M Harris

First of the Tudors by Joanna Hickson

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession by Alison Weir

First up, I was lucky enough to be approved on Netgalley for these three novels from three female authors I have read and enjoyed before. Which are also from two of my favourite genres: fantasy and historical fiction. Happy days!

The Sacred Scarred by Joanna Alonzo

I also accepted a review copy, from the author, of this novel, which was described as a modern-day, Christian retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Sounds like it should be just up my street.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Next, I won a copy of this from the lovely Lynn from Lynn’s Book Blog. It arrived just before Christmas – an early Christmas present if you like.

If You Want to Walk on Water You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat by John Ortberg

Then, I ordered a copy of this Christian non-fiction from the Book Depository via Amazon, which is the January read for my church’s book club. I’ve never read this author before, but I am a few chapters in now and I am enjoying it so far.

The Queen’s Gambit by Elizabeth Fremantle

Jamie’s 30-minute Meals By Jamie Oliver

Finally, I treated myself to these in the WH Smith’s sale that started just after Christmas. I love Jamie Oliver however his cookbooks tend to keep their value, usually retailing for £20+, so I was thrilled to find 30-minute Meals for £6! I have also previously enjoyed Elizabeth Fremantle.

Now you may well be thinking ‘but Jessica what books did you get for Christmas?’. Well, while I did receive some book related gifts, like a Harry Potter tote bag, I actually received no actually books! Let’s not be down-hearted though, I did use my Christmas money to buy the last two books and my birthday is coming up soon too.

Do you fancy any of these? Did you receive any books this Christmas?

14 thoughts on “New Books: December & Christmas 2016

  1. No matter how you got your books it is good to have them! Looking forward to your reviews. I would love to read the Henry VIII’s Six Queens series by Alison Weir as the books come out.

  2. Never trust your book count just before Christmas 😉 It may be obvious for me to say this, but Queen’s Gambit is excellent. Still my favourite of hers, I think. I remember seeing Alison Weir’s Catherine of Aragon in the shop some months ago – it’s great she’s writing about all six separately.

    Christmas money for books counts, I reckon 🙂

    I got Elizabeth Chadwick’s The Autumn Throne which I’m really excited about even if I haven’t yet read the previous book.

    1. Charlie, I had heard some great things about the Queen’s Gambit, including your own post on it, which made me so keen to get my hands on a copy; really looking forward to reading it 😀 I hope you enjoy The Autumn Throne and I look forward to hearing your thoughts on it – I really must try Elizabeth Chadwick for myself!

  3. I look forward to all your reviews – especially the Joanne Harris book – I saw that on NG but I’m trying to be careful about requests and improve my quota of requests:reviews.
    Lynn 😀

  4. I received the Joanna Hickson and Alison Weir books from Netgalley too. I haven’t read them yet but I’m looking forward to them both. Queen’s Gambit is great – I read it a few years ago and I think you’ll enjoy it. 🙂

    1. Helen, in part it was your positive thoughts on the Queen’s Gambit that made me so keen to get my hands on a copy – I did also enjoy Fremantle’s Sisters of Treason too 😀 I hope we both enjoy Hickson’s and Weir’s new books too!

  5. We studied the Ortberg book in our Bible Study and found it very helpful – we’ve used a couple of his books now.

    1. Margaret, it is great to hear you found the Ortberg book helpful in your Bible study. I have enjoyed what I’ve read so far, but sadly the date for the club meeting has changed so I won’t be able to attend now. I will still do a full post for it here on my blog though. Hopefully we will read more of his books.

  6. I have wanted to read Runemarks ever since it first came out. I think I even have a copy somewhere. I will have to look for it because I want to read more fantasy this year.

  7. I just finished season 1 and season 2 of the Tudors, and I should hunt for Alison Weir’s books so I can match my reading to the TV watching experience, and also compare her take on events with Hilary Mantel’s.

Leave a Reply

