Adaptations: December & Christmas 2016

blog-adaptations-update

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve watched on the big and small screen through December and over the festive period:

Shadowlands (1993)
Film     Television

A beautiful biopic of C S Lewis’ passionate but doomed love affair with American poet Joy Gresham. Directed by the late, great Richard Attenborough and starring the equally great Anthony Hopkins. Not technically an adaptation, however I thought it a worthy mention as these events heavily influenced Lewis’ later writing. Warning: tear jerker!

***


Poldark (Series 2)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

A BBC costume drama which follows Captain Ross Poldark (Aidan Turner) and his family; based on the books by Winston Graham. A harrowing and stark tale of mining, smuggling, love, death and war in 1700’s Cornwall. Brought to life by a strong ensemble cast, with stunning scenery and beautiful costumes.

**


Doctor Strange (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

This is the 14th film from the Marvel Cinematic Universe, which introduces us to acclaimed surgeon Dr Stephen Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch). Who after losing the use of his hands in an accident travels across the world to learn the mystic arts. Another fun, action-packed superhero blockbuster with stunning visuals and a touch of surrealism.

**


Black Sails (Series 2)
Read     TV Series     Television

The exciting second series of this swashbuckling prequel to Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island, which follows the fearsome Captain Flint and newcomer John Silver as they try to get their hands on the gold of the Urca de Lima, a Spanish treasure galleon. A rip-roaring adventure with some beautiful settings, bloody battles and some adult content.

**


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016)
Not Read     Film     Digital Copy

Superhero comedy sequel to the 2014 film; inspired by the characters from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles comic book series. Shredder and his new sidekicks, Bebop and Rocksteady, are causing havoc and mayhem all over town, and only our ‘heroes in a half-shelf’ can stop them! Not a ground breaking film but it is a fun, spectacular CGI bonanza.

**


The Jungle Book (2016)
Read     Film     Television

Visually stunning live action/CGI film based on Rudyard Kipling’s short-story collection and inspired by Disney’s 1967 film. That follows the young, man-cub Mowgli in his adventures with his animal friends, but not everything in the jungle is friendly! Utterly charming and simply beautiful.

***


Then on the lead up to Christmas I enjoyed re-watches of Alfred Hitchcock’s atmospheric classic Rebecca (1940) and childhood favourite Hook (1991). Then over the festive holiday I enjoyed re-watches of Christmas favourites The Grinch (2000) and all of the Harry Potter films. So altogether that’s 16 adaptations and 1 honorary mention watched!

As for non-adaptations, I watched ITV’s sumptuous period drama Tutankhamun (2016), HBO’s amazing new science-fiction series, Westworld (2016) and the BBC’s super gripping The Missing (Series 2). I also went to the cinema to see the absolutely awesome Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016).

Have you watched any of these? What did you watch over Christmas?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: December & Christmas 2016

  1. Hi Jessica. I fell behind on reading your blogs again. So sorry. Shadowlands was a wonderful movie for me being such a fan of C S Lewis. I have not seen The Jungle Book yet but I plan to.

    1. Not to worry Judy, I have been finding very hard to keep up with others’ blogs recently too. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed Shadowlands too and I really hope you are able to see The Jungle Book soon 🙂

  2. I still have to watch Doctor Strange, Star Wars: Rogue One, and season 2 of Poldark. I’ve been busy watching and re-watching season 1 (volumes 1 and 2) and season 2 of Outlander. I finished season 3 of Black Sails long ago; I’m glad you liked season 2. In season 3 the adult content has been turned down quite a bit as Captain Flint’s men get stranded on an island…I did like The Jungle Book live action movie a great deal.

    1. Carmen, I am pleased you enjoyed The Jungle Book and series 3 of Black Sails; the latter has yet to be shown in the UK so I will have to wait! I hope you are able to see Doctor Strange, Star Wars: Rogue One, and series 2 of Poldark soon 🙂

  3. When I read the bit about Shadowlands, I rembered watching it when it came out, which made me feel quite old. But I was thinking – I don’t remember it being Anthony Hopkins, surely it was Joss Ackland? So I checked with my dear friend Wikipedia, which tells me the Joss Ackland version was made in 1985! So now I feel even older… I need emergency chocolate!

    1. Haha aww FF! You definitely won’t want to know how old I was in 1998…let alone 1985 – I didn’t know there had been an earlier film. I hope you managed to get your hands on some chocolate 😀

  4. Having read all the Poldark books, the first 6 several times, I was a wee bit disappointed in the 2nd series of Poldark, compared to the first,but I shall reserve judgement for series 3.

    1. Margaret, I am sorry to hear you were a little bit disappointed with the second series of Poldark. I enjoyed series 1 and 2 about the same amount, but then I haven’t read the books to compare against. Fingers crossed you enjoy series 3 more 🙂

Leave a Reply

