Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated/Hidden Gems

blog-top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So

It is left up to us if we want it to be those published in the past year or just any underrated book we’ve read recently – I am going for the latter as I rarely read books the year they were published. Here is my list of ten underrated/hidden gems I read last year (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

A House Divided by Margaret Skea

a-house-divided

Historical fiction set during the reign of the young James VI in Scotland, that I doubt I would have heard of if the author hadn’t contacted me. This is the sequel to Turn of the Tide.

~ 2 ~

A Reaper of Stone by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Reaper of Stone

The first novella in a fantasy thread of the Echo of the Ascended series which was newly released last year. I also read the sequel Broken Banners.

~ 3 ~

Barton-in-the-Dale series by Gervase Phinn

The School Inspector Calls!

A charming series of books based around a small village school, which I was recommended by a family friend and I have seen passed on to my mum. I have read 3 of the 4 books so far.

~ 4 ~

Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Best Left in the Shadows

The first novella in a crime noir thread of the Echo of the Ascended series which was newly released last year. I also read the sequel Civil Blood.

~ 5 ~

Blood on the Bayou by D. J. Donaldson

blood-on-the-bayou

A bloody mystery with a supernatural set in the Deep South of America, that  I doubt I would have heard of if the publisher hadn’t contacted me.

~ 6 ~

The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson

the-circle-maker

An inspiring Christian non-fiction which I read for my church’s first book club meeting.

~ 7 ~

Innocence by Dean Koontz

innocence

A gripping thriller with a touch of the supernatural that I was lent by my dad., although by a famous author not a book I heard people talk about before.

~ 8 ~

Master of Shadows by Neil Oliver

Master of Shadows

Historical fiction and debut novel of historian and TV presenter Neil Oliver. Who knew he could write novels too?!

~ 9 ~

The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles

The Romanovs

Non-fiction which chronicles the Romanov royal dynasty (1613 to 1917), that could have been forgotten if it hadn’t been republished by Endeavour Press in 2015.

~ 10 ~

The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson

The Villa in Italy

A sweeping, romantic mystery set on the beautiful Italian coast, that I may never have read if it was not for an Amazon.co.uk sale.

What underrated/hidden gems have you read recently? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated/Hidden Gems

  1. You’ve reminded me I want to read The Villa in Italy! Margaret Skea, too, from your recommendation I believe.

    I’d say Dan Richards’ The Beechwood Airship Interviews is one. Great book and still relatively unknown as his latest is becoming more known. In Camera by Nicholas Royle and David Gledhill. Very short book but powerful. V H Leslie’s Bodies of Water.

  2. Thank you for the mention! Much appreciated. Margaret

Leave a Reply

