Adaptations: January 2017

blog-adaptations-update

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve watched during January:

Sherlock (Series 4)
Read     TV Series     Television

The long-awaited 4th series of this amazing BBC production which gives a modern twist to the Sherlock Holmes works of Arthur Conan Doyle. Sherlock (Benedict Cumberbatch) and Watson (Martin Freeman) return for three more thrilling and deadly mysteries, that are going to shake their worlds to the very core. I think this is perhaps the best of series of them all!

***


The Last Dragonslayer (2016)
Not Read     TV Film     Television

On Christmas day, Sky1 aired this magical family romp through an alternative England where magic is real but slowly running out and only young Jennifer Strange can fix it; based on Jasper Fforde’s fantasy novel. A fun watch with an all-star cast, including: Ricky Tomlinson, Nina Wadia and Pauline Collins.

**


Risen (2016)
Read     Film     Television

Biblical drama which follows Clavius, a Roman Tribune (Joseph Fiennes) as he hunts for the body of Yeshua, a crucified Jewish teacher, to quell dangerous rumours that he has risen from the dead. Along the way he is to face trials, failures and startling truths. A powerful and refreshing take on the story of Jesus Christ, his disciples and the Resurrection.

***


Alongside these three new-to-me adaptations, I have also enjoyed re-watches of two of The Hunger Games  films and two of The Hobbit films. So altogether that’s an impressive seven adaptations watched this month.

As for non-adaptations, I binge watched recordings of Channel 4’s gripping, science-fiction drama Humans (Series 2) and the tense ‘Manson Murders’ inspired Aquarius (Series 2), starring the brilliant David Duchovny. I also went to the cinema to see Kate Beckinsale in her iconic vampire role in Underworld: Blood Wars (2016).

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

4 thoughts on “Adaptations: January 2017

  1. Great viewing you had there. I started re-watching Outlander season 2 to review it.
    Can you believe I haven’t watched any season of Sherlock yet? It’s on my wishlist, but the complete seasons 1-3 are a bit pricey at $40.00. Maybe I’ll watch it if I decide to rejoin Netflix.

  2. I watched some episodes of The Magicians, adaptation of Lev Grossman’s books. I loved the books but the adaptation did not quite capture what I liked in the books. I also watched Touched By Fire, staring Katie Holmes. It is loosely adapted from a book by Kay Redfield Jameson of the same title, in which she writes a psychological examination of the link between bipolar disorder and creativity. I have not read the book but I found the movie disappointing.

    1. Judy, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with The Magicians series and the film Touched by Fire. Hopefully you’ll have more luck with the adaptations you watch in February 🙂

Leave a Reply

