Goodbye January, Hello February 2017

month-jan-2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? The weather has taken a very cold turn here in the UK, but I managed to resist the urge to stay in and hibernate. Instead I have been kept very busy with submitting my assignment for module one of the Pathways to Ministry course and then starting module two. Plus I have enjoyed a school trip to the National Space Centre in Leicester; several meetings for upcoming opportunities at church; and celebrating my birthday! Phew with all that going I am surprised I still managed to read:

Fiction: 1          Non-Fiction: 3

At the beginning of the month I finished reading Flower Fables by Louisa May Alcott; a collection of whimsical tales full of magic, fairies, love, morals and life lessons.

Alongside this one fiction, I also read three non-fictions. First, Christian non-fiction 90 Days Through the New Testament by Ron Rhodes which helpfully guides the reader through the New Testament in chronological order. Next, I read the short and concise history of Richard Nixon from Mark Black’s A Very Brief History series*, that ticked-off ‘a title with a ‘x’ in it’ for the What’s a Name 2017 challenge. Then my January read for my church’s book club was inspiring Christian non-fiction If You Want to Walk on Water You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat by John Ortberg. My full thoughts on the latter two are still to be posted.

Pick of the Month: If You Want to Walk on Water

So altogether I’ve read four books which is a pretty good start to this new year, although I am surprised that it is so non-fiction heavy. Also throughout the month I’ve been reading A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens and I started reading The Shack by William Paul Young (the February book for my church’s book club).

In February, I am looking forward to my book club meeting and a variety of nights out including a trip to the theatre to see an adaptation of Frankenstein.

What did you do and read in January? What are your plans for February?

12 thoughts on “Goodbye January, Hello February 2017

  1. It sounds like a very busy month for you, so you’ve done well to read so much. I’m impressed that you’ve read so many non-fiction books – sometimes I don’t even manage to read three in a whole year!

  2. Have you read Frankenstein? I’ve never seen a theatre version of it: interesting!

    My January reading was mainly about finishing holiday reading and just beginning my 2017 reading projects, but I’m happy they’re underway now and what began as a general wish to read more NF seems to be developing into a new passion, so I’m excited about that. For January, I only have one NF volume in my log, but I suspect that will improve this month!

    1. BIP, yes I love Frankenstein and while I have enjoyed many TV and film adaptations I haven’t seen a stage version before either – I’m excited 😀
      I hope you enjoy your reading and good luck with your projects in February, especially that new passion for non-fiction 🙂

  3. Hi Jessica,

    We did a Bible Study series based on Ortberg’s book. It was very helpful (using a DVD of his). For me in February? Writing, writing, writing (serious deadline coming up) so reading / re-reading / browsing the various research books I’m using. So much to find out / check – all fascinating stuff, though. (I’m in Germany in the early 16th century.)

    1. Margaret, good to hear you and your group found one of Ortberg’s book and DVD helpful for a Bible study. Good luck with the writing and I look forward to reading the fruits of your labour 😀

Leave a Reply

