Top Ten Tuesday: Less Love Triangles Please!

blog-top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books I Wish Had (More/Less) X In Them

I would like less love triangles in books please! Don’t get me wrong there are some great literary love triangles, such as: Rebecca, Max and the new Mrs De Winter in Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, also Aragorn, Arwen and Eowyn in The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. However for me there are now too many love triangles particularly in modern, young adult fiction, including:

~ 1 ~

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

~ 2 ~

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

~ 3 ~

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

I read and enjoyed all of the six books in The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Due to the typical love triangle between Clary, her best friend Simon and newcomer Jace though, I made a slow start to this series. Fortunately the relationships do develop which meant I got to know and like the characters better, so this series is just about forgiven.

~ 4 ~

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

~ 5 ~

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

~ 6 ~

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I have to admit I love this trilogy however I am still left with the niggling question of whether the love triangle between Katniss, her best friend Gale and fellow tribute Peeta is really needed? Especially when I think there is no competition…it is Peeta all the way for me 😀

~ 7 ~

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

~ 8 ~

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

~ 9 ~

Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

Things started so well for me in the Twilight and even New Moon was passable, but from Eclipse onwards the twisting and complicated love triangle between Bella, her best friend Jacob and the mysterious Edward all became too much for me.

~ 10 ~

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

I actually enjoyed and much preferred this science fiction drama to Meyer’s Twilight Saga, yet couldn’t help be a little annoyed that the only other book I have read by her has another complicated love triangle in it! Fortunately there is a big twist to this one so I can just about forgive it.

What’s your opinion on love triangles? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Less Love Triangles Please!

  1. Thank you! The only problem I have with reading young adult novels is that almost every book has a love triangle in it, every single one, and that eventually becomes the focus of the story, and the plot is forgotten about. I just hate love triangles so much.

  2. Love triangles are a conundrum. You can’t deny that they’re entertaining but they’ve been a tad over used – particularly in teenage fiction (since Twilight – it all just adds to the angst I suppose). But it’s not a new concept – Wuthering Heights, Gone with the Wind, Sense and Sensibility and even Little Women – all had love triangles. It has become a little bit overused and could definitely do with putting away for a while now though so that it doesn’t feel like the perfect formula for a book to wow the masses!
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I agree there are some great literary love triangles but it is a formula that has recently, particularly in young adult books, been overused and generally not done very well – in all of my examples they distracted me from the story rather than adding to it.

      1. I think ever since the success of Twilight – which is something of a ‘master jedi’ when it comes to love triangles – it was inevitable that the whole idea would be jumped upon and the market saturated with books with similar themes. A bit of a shame but not unexpected.
        Lynn 😀

  3. They are so prevalent in YA fiction, as you so keenly pointed out. While it makes for good drama in movies adaptations, it has become so annoyingly normal…As if every teenager had two loves vying for her!

  4. I’m with you. No more love triangles! I usually find them annoying and frustrating and not relevant or crucial to the plot. Let’s do away with all of them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

