Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Literary Couples

blog-top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

All About Romance Tropes/Types

I am not a huge romance fan as a genre in its own right, but there are a fair few romances I have enjoyed within other genres. So here are my top ten favourite literary couples (listed alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Bathsheba and Gabriel
Far From the Madding Crowd

I had to pick poor Gabriel who faithfully loves Bathsheba through out this harrowing tale and finally she wises up.

~ 2 ~

Daenerys and Drogo
A Song of Ice and Fire

In this bloody, fantasy epic these two show that even in an arranged marriage real affection can grow.

~ 4 ~

Eowyn and Faramir
The Lord of the Rings

I could have picked another more well known couple from this epic, however I have particular soft spot for these two and their overlooked romance.

~ 5 ~

Emma and Knightly
Emma

I had so many couples from Austen’s wonderful books to choose from – I went for these two as it is so funny and sweet when they finally realise they have loved each other all along!

~ 5 ~

Dracula and Mina
Dracula

How could I not choose these two when their love has outlasted hundreds of years and even death?!

~ 6 ~

Katniss and Peeta
The Hunger Games

While I am not all that keen on the love triangle in this series – I am of the firm belief it should always have been these two together.

~ 7 ~

Lupin and Tonks
Harry Potter

There are also many couples I could have picked from this long series, however I have a soft spot for these two as they had to overcome a lot to get together and then it all has such a bittersweet ending.

~ 8 ~

Roland and Susan
The Dark Tower

A young, innocent love affair that has heart breaking and lasting consequences. Roland would never have been the same without her.

~ 9 ~

Romeo and Juliet
Romeo and Juliet

No literary couples list would be complete without Shakespeare’s infamous and ill-fated star-crossed lovers of Verona.

~ 10 ~

Tris and Four
Divergent

Refreshingly this young adult series doesn’t have a love triangle and these two are sweet together, even when they disagree.

Who are your favourite literary couples? Also, please link your post in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Literary Couples

  1. I never really doubted that it would be Katniss and Peeta, based on how Collins wrote them. Emma and Knightley are pretty great, agreed. Also a fan of Dorothea and Will from Middlemarch.

  2. I didn’t take part in this week’s topic but I’ve enjoyed reading all the lists. I like most of Jane Austen’s couples, but I think Emma and Mr Knightley are one of the best. And I would never have thought to include Dracula and Mina – what an interesting choice!

Leave a Reply

