Top Ten Tuesday: Disappointing Books

blog-top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would

I am going to have to go with books I loved less than I thought I would because I wouldn’t start reading a book if I didn’t think I was going to enjoy it, so a lot harder to think of books then that a love more than I thought. Here is my list of ten books I was a little disappointed with:

~ 1 ~

The Amber Spyglass by Phillip Pullman

I loved Northern Lights; I loved The Subtle Knife and while I enjoyed the third book, it did get a bit bogged down in the theological debate for me.

~ 2 ~

The Dark Tower VII by Stephen King

This is an epic seven book series which I loved, then I got to the warning one chapter from the end of the final book. My gut instinct was to stop reading as warned but my dad urged me on…I should have stopped!

~ 3 ~

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Being set in the roaring twenties, I thought this was a dead set for me loving but I found the characters just too unlikable to love it.

~ 4 ~

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J K Rowling

Don’t get me wrong I adore this series, however when I first read this book I was really annoyed with how moody and whiney Harry is.

~ 5 ~

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

After being blown away by The Time Traveler’s Wife, I had very high expectations for this one…which was perhaps its downfall.

~ 6 ~

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Controversial choice I know! I loved the gothic setting and the beautiful writing, but sadly I found Jane’s self-deprecating behaviour really annoying.

~ 7 ~

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Similar to His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman, I loved The Hunger Games, I loved Catching Fire and while I enjoyed the final book in this trilogy, it lost the impetus and structure of the previous books.

~ 8 ~

The Shack by William Paul Young

This book started so well for me then I reached the big reveal…and most frustrating of all is I can’t tell you why I was disappointed because that would ruin the surprise for you!

~ 9 ~

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

This book suffered from not living up to the film for me which I watched first, where was Captain Shakespeare?!

~ 10 ~

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

I loved the magical and more adult Oz that Maguire created but I found the story a bit too political for me.

What books disappointed you? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Disappointing Books

  1. I think it’s so interesting to hear people’s most disappointing reads. It’s amazing how one book can be so amazing to some and so off-putting to others. I did a similar theme last week.

    1. Hello Marie, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I don’t dislike any of these books, but I was disappointed in them because I expected to love them far more than I did. I will have to pop over to see your similar theme.

      1. I guess I over-stated there. There were definitely some on mine that I disliked, but some were just less enjoyable for me than the general public found them.

  2. The utter darkness of Maguire’s Wicked made my response to the book overall mixed. That part with her kid and the well for some reason really distressed me.

  3. I actually hated The Time Traveler’s Wife itself (please don’t hurt me), so I was not going to go out and read the author’s second foray into fiction. I’m glad to hear I didn’t miss anything.

    Another book everyone seems to love and I detested was The Fault in Our Stars. It felt so manipulative and false to me, I did not shed a tear. Probably this makes me a horrible person, but I don’t care.

    Amber Spyglass was disappointing too. I wish Pullman would not be so puffed up about how smart he is for being an atheist and wanting to kill God — everybody has a right to believe what they want as far as I’m concerned, but not to hit everyone else over the head with it. His imaginative ideas are far more interesting than his theological ones.

    1. Lory, I am sorry to hear you hated The Time Traveler’s Wife but it does sound like we have exactly the same thoughts on The Amber Spyglass. Pullman’s imaginative ideas are far more interesting than his theological ones – it was like he lured us in with two magical tales then once he’d got us decided to dump his atheism on us in one giant pay load! Such a shame. As for The Fault in Our Stars, I haven’t read it and can’t say I have the urge to either 😀

  4. I agree with you on The Great Gatsby. I tried Tender is the Night too and didn’t get on much better with that one, so I’ve decided Fitzgerald just isn’t for me. I do like Jane Eyre, but I can understand why you might find Jane annoying. I’ve always preferred Wuthering Heights. 🙂

    1. Helen, it is so comforting to hear I am not the only one who struggled with the characters in The Great Gatsby. I had the same problem with The Beautiful and the Damned too, but I did find the characters a bit better in Tender is the Night. I still have This Side of Paradise on my TBR, after hearing your thoughts I am not sure I will be rushing to read it!

      p.s. I much prefer Wuthering Heights too 🙂

  5. I’m definitely in agreement with a few of these (although I do love and have to say a special word for Jane Eyre). The Shack – nope, not for me. Great Gatsby I’ve never read but I have read reviews that reflect what you say here. The Niffengger book – I was very disappointed, I loved certain elements of it – like the cemetery and the residents of the flats – but the ending – I just felt really let down! And Mockingjay – don’t get me started – that ending did feel like a let down for me.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn it so interesting how we agree on so many of these except for Jane Eyre. To be fair I loved the story, setting, beautifully gothic writing and Mr Rochester…but sorry Jane was not for me! 😀

  6. I liked Gatsby precisely because of the flawed characters, and I thought Jane Eyre was a product of her age, though I liked Mr. Rochester more. In regards to Mockingjay, I can only talk about the movie adaptation since I didn’t read the trilogy, and what I can say is that it was the weakest of the three.

    1. Carmen, I totally understand many people love The Great Gatsby and Jane Eyre. The characters being flawed in Gatsby wasn’t really my issue though, there are many flawed but likeable characters, instead it was the fact they were all so horrible! And you’re right Jane is a product of her age unfortunately that doesn’t stop her from being really annoying! I much prefer Mr Rochester 😀

    1. I’m sorry FF but unless Fitzgerald is going to come back from the dead and write some more likeable characters this is never go to be a love for me. I had the same problem with The Beautiful and the Damned too, but I did find the characters a bit better in Tender is the Night. I still have This Side of Paradise on my TBR.

  7. I completely sympathize with not liking whiny or self-deprecating characters.

    I have Pullman’s trilogy waiting to be read, I will try to keep an open mind but too often sequels don’t live up to the expectations of the first book. More often than not I find the second book the most disappointing one, though.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

